70th Anniversary Grand Prix: Post Race Statistics

Verstappen records the first Honda-powered Silverstone win in over thirty years, Hamilton equals Schumacher’s record podium tally and Raikkonen becomes F1’s most experienced driver. Here are all of the facts and statistics from the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix!


Max Verstappen became the first non-Mercedes driver to win a race in 2020 with victory at the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix. It was the ninth win of his career, and his first victory at Silverstone – making him the 31st driver to have won a Grand Prix at the circuit.

Verstappen is the first Dutch driver to have won at Silverstone, making the Netherlands the fourteenth different country to have stood on the top step at the circuit.

Max Verstappen’s ninth career victory is Red Bull’s first win at Silverstone since Mark Webber won the 2012 British Grand Prix, which was also the Australian’s ninth win. With their fourth victory at the circuit, Red Bull overtake Lotus’ tally of Silverstone wins.

The 70th Anniversary Grand Prix marks the first time that a Honda-powered car has won at Silverstone since Alain Prost took victory in the 1989 British Grand Prix. It was the Japanese manufacturer’s fourth win in total at the circuit.

Before the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix weekend, Max Verstappen had led only a single lap of Silverstone, in 2016. He led 29 laps on his route to victory this weekend.

Max Verstappen has now had 35 podium finishes in his career, equalling the totals of multiple World Champions Juan Manuel Fangio and Emerson Fittipaldi.

For the first time since the 2014 British Grand Prix, a Formula 1 race at Silverstone was won from outside the front row of the grid. This is the fifth time that a driver has won a Grand Prix from fourth on the grid at Silverstone, after Clay Regazzoni in 1979, David Coulthard in 2000, Michael Schumacher in 2004 and Lewis Hamilton in 2008.

The 70th Anniversary Grand Prix was the first F1 race not to be won from pole position since the 2019 Mexico Grand Prix and the first since the 2018 German Grand Prix to be won from outside of the top three on the grid.


Finishing as runner-up, Lewis Hamilton recorded his 155th podium finish – equalling the record for most podium finishes in Formula 1. The current record of 155 was set by Michael Schumacher at the 2012 European Grand Prix. He has been the record holder for most podium finishes since the 2002 British Grand Prix.

Hamilton’s second place was his eleventh podium finish at Silverstone, and the 44th podium finish for a British driver at the circuit. This is only the second time in the last eight Silverstone races that Hamilton has failed to win.

Valtteri Bottas recorded the 49th podium finish of his career, with his fourth top three result at Silverstone. The Finn now has as many podium finishes at the track as Nico Rosberg, the man he replaced at Mercedes in 2017. As a result of Bottas’ podium, Finnish drivers have now had the third-most podiums at Silverstone, overtaking French drivers’ tally.

Lewis Hamilton recorded his fifth Fastest Lap at Silverstone, putting him one away from equalling Nigel Mansell’s record of six Fastest Laps at the track.

With Hamilton second and Bottas third, this is the fifth time that both Mercedes drivers have finished on the podium at Silverstone. Strangely, the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix was the first time that Red Bull have won a race with Mercedes finishing 2nd and 3rd.

This was the fifth time in Formula 1 history that the driver starting fourth has won, with the driver starting second finishing where they started and the polesitter finishing third. The other times it has happened were at the 1969 Mexico Grand Prix, the 1972 Monaco Grand Prix, the 1993 European Grand Prix and the 2002 Malaysian Grand Prix.


Lance Stroll recorded his best ever Silverstone result and the fifth top six result of his career with sixth place at the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix. It equals the team’s best result at their home track since Sergio Perez finished sixth in 2016. A car from the Silverstone-based team has not finished in a better position at the circuit since Heinz-Harald Frentzen finished fourth in 1999. This was the first time that both Racing Point cars have finished in the points at Silverstone since the 2018 British Grand Prix.

McLaren have finished with one car in the points and one outside the points in all of the last four Silverstone races.

With eighth place, Esteban Ocon maintains his 100% points-scoring record at Silverstone.

For the third time in the last seven races, Daniil Kvyat finished in tenth place. It’s the first time that the driver starting sixteenth has scored at Silverstone since Kvyat’s then team-mate Jean-Eric Vergne did so at the 2014 British Grand Prix.


Daniel Ricciardo failed to score at Silverstone for the first time since his retirement from the 2015 British Grand Prix.

Completing 51 of the 52 laps in the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix, Kimi Raikkonen became the driver to have completed the most racing laps in Formula 1 history. His tally of laps complete now stands at 16,845 – twenty more laps than Michael Schumacher completed during his career. Raikkonen also equalled Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello for most Silverstone race entries. This was his nineteenth appearance at the circuit.

George Russell finished eighteenth and Nicholas Latifi finished nineteenth in the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix. The result is Williams’ worst at Silverstone since their double DNF in the 1985 British Grand Prix.


For a third Silverstone race in a row, Kevin Magnussen was the first retirement of the Grand Prix. He’s the first driver to have been the first retirement of the race on three consecutive visits to Silverstone and the first driver to be the first retirement of two consecutive races since Fernando Alonso at the 2018 United States and Mexican Grands Prix. Only Andrea de Cesaris, Ivan Capelli, Eddie Irvine, Pedro Diniz and Riccardo Patrese have had more consecutive DNFs at Silverstone.

Haas recorded the same result as they did at the 2020 British Grand Prix, with Magnussen retiring and Romain Grosjean finishing sixteenth. Magnussen’s retirement was their sixth in their six visits to the track.

For the first time in a dry race in the Pirelli era, no driver started the Grand Prix on the softest available tyre compound.

This was the first race at Silverstone to not feature a Safety Car since 2012 – which was also the last race at the track which Red Bull won.

2 thoughts on “70th Anniversary Grand Prix: Post Race Statistics”

  1. Pingback: A Statistic For Every Driver: 70th Anniversary GP - Lights Out ●●●●●

  2. Pingback: Obscure Facts from the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix - Lights Out ●●●●●

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top