Marina Bay Track Stats

It’s time for F1’s premier night race weekend! The sport heads to the Marina Bay Circuit for the fifteenth round of the 2018 championship. Here are all the stats you need ahead of the Singapore Grand Prix weekend!


From ten previous race at the Marina Bay Circuit, four different drivers have won the Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel has the most wins at this track, with four.

Red Bull and Mercedes have the equal most number of race wins in Singapore, having each made three top step appearances. Ferrari, on two, and McLaren and Renault, each on one, are the only other teams to have triumphed.

The race has only been won back-to-back on one occasion. Sebastian Vettel took a hat-trick of wins in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

From the 2018 drivers, there have been three previous Singapore winners. While Sebastian Vettel has four, Lewis Hamilton has the opportunity to equal his tally this weekend. Fernando Alonso has taken two wins here in the past.

The longest streak of different winners at this track has been three – on two occasions between 2009 and 2011 and between 2015 and 2017. The streak could be extended to a new record of four different winners in a row, if neither Sebastian Vettel or Lewis Hamilton take victory.

The smallest win margin at the Marina Bay track came in 2010, when Fernando Alonso was hunted down to the end of the race by Sebastian Vettel, but held on to finish 0.293 seconds ahead of the Red Bull driver. In contrast, the largest win margin was 32.627 seconds, when Vettel won during his dominant period in 2013.

The average win margin at this track is 7.621 seconds.

Click for all the information you need for the 2018 Singapore Grand Prix weekend!


Over its ten year history, ten different drivers have stood on the Singapore Grand Prix podium.

Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton are all tied with the most number of podium finishes here, with five each. Daniel Ricciardo could join that group this year. He’s finished on the podium in Singapore in every year he has competed with Red Bull. He’s yet to win the race though. Kimi Raikkonen has finished on the podium here twice, while Valtteri Bottas is the only other 2018 driver with a Singapore podium to his name, having finished third in last year’s event.


Five drivers have taken a Singapore Grand Prix pole. Sebastian Vettel has the most, with four, having taken pole on every alternate year beginning in 2011. Lewis Hamilton could equal his tally this year, while Fernando Alonso is the only other current driver to have taken pole here, setting the fastest Saturday time in 2010.

Ferrari have the most poles here, with four. McLaren, Red Bull and Mercedes are all tied on two.

There has never been a back-to-back polesitter at the Marina Bay Circuit. The longest run of different polesitters came between the first event in 2008 and the 2011 event, where four different drivers took pole in as many years.

The smallest pole margin here came in 2014, when Lewis Hamilton beat his team-mate to pole by just 0.007 seconds. The largest pole margin was at the inaugural race at the track, when Felipe Massa claimed top spot by 0.664 seconds.

The average pole margin at this track is 0.333 seconds.


Seven of the ten races held in Singapore have been won from pole, meaning there is a 70% pole to win conversion.

The other three wins have all come from third or further back, with the furthest back win coming from fifteenth on the grid when Fernando Alonso controversially won the first Singapore Grand Prix for Renault.

Click for the Ultimate Guide to the Marina Bay Circuit!


You’re pretty much guaranteed to see a Safety Car during the Singapore Grand Prix. There has been at least one Safety Car period in all ten of the previous races at the Marina Bay circuit.

The most Safety Car appearances in one race is two – on four occasions – in 2008, 2010, 2015 and 2017.

There has only been one race here affected by rain. That came last year – the first ever wet night race in F1 history – and led to a chaotic start to the race, which saw four drivers eliminated before the third turn.

Races a the Marina Bay track are usually very long, with four running over the two hour time limit.

The shortest race here was in 2016, when Nico Rosberg finished the Grand Prix in a time of 1:55:48.950. Meanwhile, the longest race was just over eight minutes longer than that, with Lewis Hamilton recording a win time of 2:03:23.544 last year.

The attrition rate here is average. On average, sixteen cars finish the race. The highest number of finishers came in 2011 when, from a field of 24 cars, 20 made it to the finish. The highest attrition rate came last year, when just twelve cars made it to the chequered flag.

There has never been a red-flagged Singapore Grand Prix.


No champions have been crowned here, but from ten seasons, six of the race winners here have gone on to be crowned that year’s World Champion. Six of the last seven race winners here have gone on to be the champion.


The date of the Singapore Grand Prix is one day earlier year-on-year on every occasion it has been hosted, with the exclusion of leap years. In 2008, it was held on 28th September. By 2018, it is held on 17th September.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top