Hockenheim Track Stats

After its usual biennial break, the German Grand Prix returns for what could be the final time at Hockenheim. Here are all the stats you need ahead of the race weekend!


There have been 35 previous F1 races held at the Hockenheim track. From those races, there have been 22 different winners.

Michael Schumacher is the driver with the most wins here, having taken four victories. Ferrari are the team with the most wins, with nine.

There are four drivers who have won back-to-back races at this track. Nelson Piquet took consecutive wins in 1986 and 1987, Ayrton Senna took three consecutive wins between 1988 and 1990 and Nigel Mansell won races in both 1991 and 1992. Fernando Alonso is the latest driver to have won consecutive races at this track, in 2010 and 2012.

The longest streak of different winners at Hockenheim started when the sport first visited the track. In the ten races held between 1970 and 1986, there were no repeat winners.

Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton are the only drivers on the 2018 grid to have previously won a Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring. Alonso has won here three times – in 2005, 2010 and 2012 – while Hamilton has won at Hockenheim twice – in 2008 and 2016.

The smallest win margin at this track was in 1998, when Mika Hakkinen won by just 0.426 seconds. The largest win margin was in 1987, when Nelson Piquet won by 99.591 seconds.

The average win margin at the Hockenheimring is 17.809 seconds.


51 different drivers have stood on the podium at this track. Michael Schumacher has had the most podiums here, having finished in the top three seven times.

Six drivers on the 2018 grid have finished on the podium at Hockenheim before. Fernando Alonso has appeared on the rostrum on four occasions, Lewis Hamilton is just behind him with three top three finishes. Kimi Raikkonen has finished on the podium twice here while Daniel Ricciardo, Max Verstappen, Sebastian Vettel and Valtteri Bottas have each finished on the podium once.


There have been 22 different polesitters from the 35 races held at Hockenheim.

Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell and Alain Prost are all tied for the most poles at this track, with three each. McLaren have the most poles of any team here, with eleven.

There are four previous Hockenheim polesitters on the 2018 grid. Kimi Raikkonen has the most, with two, while Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso each have a solitary pole here.

Ayrton Senna holds the record for the most consecutive here, taking three in a row in 1988, 1989 and 1990.

The longest streak of different polesitters here came in the eight events held between 1970 and 1983.

The largest pole margin at Hockenheim was in 2000, when David Coulthard set the fastest time by 1.366 seconds. Meanwhile, the smallest pole margin came in 2010, when Sebastian Vettel was fastest by just 0.002 seconds.

The average pole margin here is 0.278 seconds.


Eighteen of the races here have been won from pole. That a pole to win conversion rate of 51%.

26 races here have been won from the front row of the grid, meaning that just nine have been won from third or lower.

The furthest back a race has been won from at this track is eighteenth on the grid, which Rubens Barrichello achieved in 2000. That race remains the last time that a Grand Prix at Hockenheim was won from further back than third.


Only four races at the Hockenheimring have seen a Safety Car period. There has never been more than one Safety Car period in any Grand Prix here. This track saw the shortest ever Safety Car period in 2000, when the race was neutralised due to a track invasion by a fan. The Safety Car didn’t complete a full lap of the circuit.

Three races at this track have been affected by rain.

The longest race at the Hockenheimring was the inaugural event, which was won in a time of 1:42:00.3. The shortest event came in 2001. Ralf Schumacher won in a time of 1:18:17.873.

The most number of finishers here came in 2012, when 23 of the 24 drivers saw the chequered flag. The least number of finishers is seven, which has happened twice – in 1970 and 1987.

On average, thirteen cars make it to the end of the Grand Prix here.

The 2001 race here is the only time a Grand Prix at this track has been red-flagged.


A World Champion has never been crowned at this track. The winner of this event has gone on to win that year’s championship sixteen times.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top