Hockenheim Track Stats

Here are all the facts and statistics you need to know about the Hockenheim circuit ahead of the 2019 German Grand Prix!


There have been 36 German Grands Prix held so far at the Hockenheim circuit. During that time, 22 different drivers have won a race here.

Michael Schumacher has the most wins of any driver at the track with four; a tally which Lewis Hamilton could equal this weekend. In fact, Hamilton is the only driver on the 2019 grid to have previously won at Hockenheim.

Ferrari are the team with the most wins at the circuit, with their drivers having stood on the top step of the podium eleven times. Ferrari-powered cars have had more wins than any other engine manufacturer here too. Brazilian and British drivers are tied for the most victories here, with seven each, while German drivers have triumphed six times at Hockenheim.

Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell, Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton are the five drivers who have taken back-to-back wins at the track. Senna is the only driver to have won more than two consecutive events at the circuit, having won three in a row in 1988, 1989 and 1990. Hamilton could equal that this weekend, having won in both 2016 and 2018.

The longest streak of different winners at this track came in the ten events held between 1970 and 1986, in which there were no repeat winners.

A race at Hockenheim has been won by less than five seconds ten times, most recently in 2018 when Lewis Hamilton finished 4.535 seconds ahead of his team-mate.

The smallest win margin at Hockenheim is 0.426 seconds, the gap by which Mika Hakkinen took victory in 1998. The largest win margin is 99.591 seconds, achieved by Nelson Piquet back in 1987.

From the last ten German Grands Prix to be held at Hockenheim, the average win margin has been 14.617 seconds.


51 different drivers have finished on the podium at Hockenheim. Michael Schumacher has the most top three finishes, with seven.

Ferrari have had the most top three finishes of any team at the circuit, with 23 in total. McLaren and Williams are tied for the second-most, with 21 apiece.

British drivers have finished on the podium more times than drivers from any other nation, with nineteen top three finishes.

There are six drivers on the 2019 grid who have previously finished on the podium at this track. Lewis Hamilton has had four top three finishes, Kimi Raikkonen has had three and Valtteri Bottas has scored top three finishes twice here. Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen have each had one German Grand Prix podium finish.

The polesitter has finished on the podium in 25 of 36 races held here, though has failed to finish in the top three in both of the last two Grands Prix at the track.

The furthest back on the grid that a podium finish at the track has come from is twentieth. This is the grid slot which Lewis Hamilton scored a third place finish from in 2014 after suffering a brake failure in qualifying.

There has never been a Formula One race at Hockenheim where all of the top three qualifiers have failed to finish on the podium.

There have been five occasions where all the top three qualifiers finished in the top three in the Grand Prix. In 1988, 1989 and 1998, the top three on the grid finished in the order in which they started.


From the 36 races here, 22 different drivers have started a German Grand Prix from pole.

Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell and Alain Prost are all tied for the most poles at this track with three each. It’s a club which Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel have the opportunity of joining this weekend. Aside from Vettel and Raikkonen with two poles each at the track, Lewis Hamilton is the only other driver on the 2019 grid to have taken pole at Hockenheim, having done so in 2008.

McLaren have more poles than any other team at the circuit, with eleven. British drivers have taken more poles than drivers from any other nation, with seven, though France and Germany could equal that tally this weekend.

Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Mika Hakkinen, Kimi Raikkonen and Nico Rosberg are the six drivers to have taken back-to-back poles at Hockenheim. Sebastian Vettel will join that list if he takes pole on Saturday. Ayrton Senna is the only driver to have taken three poles in a row at the track.

The track record at the Hockenheim circuit is a 1:11.212, which is the lap time with which Sebastian Vettel took pole last season.

The largest lap time difference between the slowest and fastest cars in qualifying here is 25.137 seconds. That happened in 1987, when polesitter Nigel Mansell’s best lap was over 25 seconds faster than Alex Caffi’s lap for 26th on the grid. The smallest gap between the slowest and fastest laps on a Saturday is 2.360 seconds, which was the difference between Lewis Hamilton’s fastest Q2 lap and Giancarlo Fisichella’s lap time for last on the grid in 2008.

Pole has been decided by less than a tenth of a second on ten occasions at this track. This most recently happened in 2010, when Sebastian Vettel took pole by 0.002 seconds – the smallest ever pole margin seen at Hockenheim. In contrast, the largest pole margin here came in 2000, when David Coulthard took the top spot in damp conditions for McLaren by 1.366 seconds. That’s the only time pole has been decided by more than one second here.

From the last ten Grands Prix weekends at Hockenheim, the average pole margin has been 0.208 seconds.


Eighteen Grands Prix at this track have been won from pole, giving a pole to win conversion rate of exactly 50%. 26 races here have been won from the front.

Just ten races have been won from third on the grid or further back at Hockenheim; including three since the turn of the millennium. Rubens Barrichello’s victory from eighteenth on the grid in 2000 is the furthest back a win at this track has come from.

There have been seven occasions where the polesitter has finished on the podium at Hockenheim without winning the race.


The highest number of drivers to complete every lap of a race at this track is 16, which happened in 2008, when race winner Lewis Hamilton and fifteen other drivers finished all 67 laps of the race. 1982 and 1987 are the only occasions where only the winner and the driver in second place finished on the lead lap of a race at this track.

Just four races here have seen a Safety Car period. There’s yet to be a race at the track which features more than one Safety Car outing.

Four races at this track have been affected by rain, most recently rain in last year’s German Grand Prix aided Lewis Hamilton to an unlikely victory from fourteenth on the grid.

Michael Schumacher has set the pace on a Sunday more often than any other driver, having taken five fastest laps at the circuit.

In total, 840 cars have started a Formula One race at Hockenheim. From those 840, 460 have seen the chequered flag, giving an overall finish rate of 54.67%. The highest number of cars to finish a race here came in 2012, when 23 of the 24 starters reached the finish line. Meanwhile, there have been two occasions where just seven cars have finished the race here. It happened in 1970 and 1987.

The 2001 German Grand Prix is the only time a race at this track has been red-flagged.

In total, 1,866 Grand Prix racing laps have been completed at this track. The 35th lap of the 2019 German Grand Prix will be the 1,900th Grand Prix lap held at Hockenheim.


No World Champions have been crowned at Hockenheim, but the winner of the German Grand Prix at this track has gone on to win the title in the same season on seventeen occasions.

The championship leader after a race at this venue has gone on to win the title 24 times.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top