2021’s Tallest F1 Driver Is…

Which F1 team has the tallest driver line-up in 2021? Who is the tallest driver, who is the shortest, and what is the combined height of this year’s grid? We have all the answers!

If the drivers on the 2021 grid all stood on each other’s heads in an impressive acrobatic circus act, their total height would be 35.38 metres. That’s double the size of Abraham Lincoln’s face on Mount Rushmore.

Esteban Ocon is the tallest driver on the 2021 grid, standing at 186cm. Last year, he shared the award for tallest driver with Alex Albon. The 2021 grid is 38cm shorter than the 2020 grid. While Albon, Romain Grosjean, Kevin Magnussen and Daniil Kvyat measured a combined height of 720cm, the four different drivers for 2021 – Fernando Alonso, Yuki Tsunoda, Mick Schumacher and Nikita Mazepin – measure a combined height of 682cm.

Yuki Tsunoda becomes the shortest driver to race in Formula 1 this millennium, standing at 159cm – 4cm shorter than Anthony Davidson. The next shortest driver is Lando Norris, who is 11cm taller than Tsunoda.

For the fourth year in a row, Williams have the tallest driver line-up, with both George Russell and Nicholas Latifi standing at 185cm. Their combined height is 10cm taller than the next tallest line-up at Alfa Romeo. AlphaTauri become the team with the shortest driver line-up, with Pierre Gasly and Yuki Tsunoda reaching a combined height of only 336cm – 11cm shorter than the next shortest line-up at Mercedes.

Hans-Joachim Stuck is believed to be the tallest ever F1 driver at 194cm, while Andrea Montermini is thought to be the shortest of the modern era at just 5 feet, 2 inches (around 157cm – 2cm shorter than Yuki Tsunoda).


  1. Esteban Ocon 186cm
  2. Antonio Giovinazzi 185cm
  3. George Russell 185cm
  4. Nicholas Latifi 185cm
  5. Lance Stroll 182cm
  6. Max Verstappen 180cm
  7. Charles Leclerc 179cm
  8. Daniel Ricciardo 178cm
  9. Carlos Sainz 177cm
  10. Pierre Gasly 177cm
  11. Mick Schumacher 176cm
  12. Nikita Mazepin 176cm
  13. Sergio Perez 175cm
  14. Sebastian Vettel 175cm
  15. Kimi Raikkonen 175cm
  16. Lewis Hamilton 174cm
  17. Valtteri Bottas 173cm
  18. Fernando Alonso 171cm
  19. Lando Norris 170cm
  20. Yuki Tsunoda 159cm


  1. Williams 370cm
  2. Alfa Romeo 360cm
  3. Aston Martin 357cm
  4. Alpine 357cm
  5. Ferrari 356cm
  6. Red Bull 355cm
  7. Haas 352cm
  8. McLaren 348cm
  9. Mercedes 347cm
  10. AlphaTauri 336cm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *