Sauber F1 Team Profile

Sauber F1 Team Profile


With just one win to their name over their 25 year history, the Sauber team enter 2018 with the latest Ferrari engine, a new partnership with Alfa Romeo and a renewed sense of optimism.

Championships 0
First F1 Appearance 1993 South African Grand Prix
Wins 1
Poles 1
Team Principal Frédéric Vasseur

The Sauber team was founded in the 1970s by Peter Sauber, with the team progressing through hillclimbing and the World Sportscar Championship to eventually reach Formula One in 1993. In its sportscars days, the team fielded a number of future F1 stars, including Michael Schumacher in 1990 and 1991, who took two wins. Sauber has been somewhat of a proving ground for young F1 drivers, with Heinz Harald Frentzen, Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa, Nick Heidfeld and Giancarlo Fisichella passing through the team’s doors.

The team scored points on their Grand Prix début, where JJ Lehto finished fifth in the 1993 South African Grand Prix. Dietrich Mateschitz purchased a majority share in the team in 1995, and the Sauber team took Red Bull sponsorship from 1995 onwards, with their cars painted in a navy blue. In 2000, the team was forced to withdraw from the Brazilian Grand Prix due to rear wing failures. After a run of seventh and eighth finishes in the nineties, 2001 became the team’s best season to date, finishing fourth in the Constructors’ Championship. In 2005, Peter Sauber announced that he would be leaving his position as Team Principal, as the team were to be taken over by BMW, renaming themselves BMW Sauber.

The BMW Sauber era was a successful one, with Robert Kubica replacing Jacques Villeneuve mid-season in 2006 and scoring the team a podium on only his third outing. 2007 saw a terrifying crash for Kubica in Montreal, which, due to the Polish driver’s injuries, gave Sebastian Vettel his race début with the team at the U.S. Grand Prix. 2008 was the team’s most competitive season, and the team took their first and only win to date, scoring a 1-2 led by Kubica at the Canadian Grand Prix, one year on from his crash. The team finished third in the Constructors’ Championship.

After dropping to sixth the following season, BMW withdrew from Formula One at the end of 2009. Sauber slipped down the field for the next seasons before a resurgence in 2012, which saw Sergio Perez and Kamui Kobayashi take four podiums between them, and Perez almost took the win in the 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix after a race-long battle with Fernando Alonso. Also during 2012, long-term team co-owner Monisha Kaltenborn stepped up to the position of Team Principal, becoming the sport’s first female Team Principal. 

The team slid back down the grid again with a new driver line-up in 2013, then had a pointless season for the first, and only, time in their history in 2014. In 2015, the team enjoyed a more mid-field position, with a new line up of Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr bringing the team regular points. The opening weekend of the 2015 season also saw the team embroiled in a legal battle with Geido van der Garde, who had been signed as a 2015 race driver but had not had the contract fulfilled. Lack of funding saw the team struggle in 2016, though Nasr’s two points scored at the penultimate round of the championship secured Sauber’s vital ninth place in the standings, ahead of Manor.

In 2017, as they celebrated 25 years of being in the sport, Sauber hoped to move up the grid and be challenging in the midfield. Monisha Kaltenborn left her role as Team Principal and was replaced by Frédéric Vasseur during the season. It was always set to be a difficult task with year-old Ferrari engines, and at the start of the season, when they were theoretically more competitive, they were without their only points scorer – Pascal Wehrlein – due to injury. Wehrlein amassed five points for the team from two rounds, while Marcus Ericsson failed to score.

Sauber were set to become Honda’s partners in 2018, until Vasseur essentially ripped up the contract on his first day at the team. Sauber have been in a no man’s land in recent seasons but 2018 could be the year where that changes. The team will benefit from having current-spec Ferrari engines this year, and a new sponsorship deal with Alfa Romeo. The highly regarded reigning F2 champion Charles Leclerc will join the team alongside Ericsson as the duo start their mission to move the Sauber team into the mid-field.


Year Championship Position Wins Poles Drivers
2010 8th (44 points) 0 0 Pedro de la Rosa, Nick Heidfeld, Kamui Kobayashi
2011 7th (44 points) 0 0 Kamui Kobayashi, Sergio Perez, Pedro de la Rosa
2012 6th (126 points) 0 0 Kamui Kobayashi, Sergio Perez
2013 7th (57 points) 0 0 Nico Hulkenberg, Esteban Gutiérrez
2014 10th (0 points) 0 0 Esteban Gutiérrez, Adrian Sutil
2015 8th (36 points) 0 0 Marcus Ericsson, Felipe Nasr
2016 10th (2 points) 0 0 Marcus Ericsson, Felipe Nasr
2017 10th (5 points) 0 0 Marcus Ericsson, Antonio Giovinazzi, Pascal Wehrlein
2018       Marcus Ericsson, Charles Leclerc