Albert Park: The Ultimate Track Guide

Albert Park: The Ultimate Track Guide

Albert Park, located just a few miles south of central Melbourne, is the venue of the now traditional season opening Australian Grand Prix. The temporary street circuit is a favourite among drivers and fans, as the cars tear through the park, just inches from the surrounding walls.

TRACK LENGTH 3.295 miles
MOST POLES Lewis Hamilton (8)
MOST WINS Michael Schumacher (4)



The Australian Grand Prix was an event for many years before it became a part of the F1 World Championship. This event moved around tracks in Australia on a yearly basis. One non-championship Grand Prix with F1 machinery was held at Albert Park in 1956, albeit on a very different track to the current layout. The 1956 event was won by Stirling Moss, driving for Maserati. The Australian Grand Prix became a fixture on the F1 calendar in 1985, at Adelaide. The race was run successfully there for eleven seasons.

In 1993, negotiations began to bring the Australian Grand Prix to Melbourne and, after two years of preparations, Formula One took to the streets of a rebuilt Albert Park circuit for the first time for the first race of the 1996 season, much to the dismay of the ‘Save Albert Park’ group. The building of the circuit, even though temporary, required trees to be cut down and some facilities to be removed from the park. The deal was struck mostly thanks to Ron Walker, an Australian business man who held negotiations with Bernie Ecclestone. Following Walker’s death in January 2018, the main straight on the track was renamed the ‘Walker Straight’ in honour of the man who helped to bring the event to the city.

The Albert Park track is set around the man-altered lake, which is the centrepiece of the park. The track has been a favourite among fans for a long time, though opinion in recent years has shifted. While the track used to always promises an eventful opening round to a new season of Formula One, events in recent years have been somewhat processional. The circuit is essentially a street track, but is not as restrictive as Monaco, allowing for plenty of overtaking. The Grand Prix is well attended, as spectators get the first chance to see the new cars in action. Grandstands and corners are named after legendary Australian mostorsport figures such as Alan Jones, Jack Brabham and Mark Webber. A grandstand was renamed in 2016 in honour of Daniel Ricciardo. Though corner names are rarely used here, the last four corners of the track – Ascari, Stewart, Senna and Prost – are named after former F1 champions.

The Albert Park track holds a contract to host the Australian Grand Prix until 2023.


For a second year in succession, Sebastian Vettel took victory for Ferrari at the season-opening Grand Prix after a pit stop blunder for Mercedes.

The weekend got off to a bad start for home favourite Daniel Ricciardo, who received a three-place grid penalty for failing to slow down for a Red Flag during Friday Practice. It was a relatively easy run to pole for Lewis Hamilton, as his Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas crashed out in Q3 and started way down the order as a result. Hamilton maintained his lead at the start, despite a challenge from Kimi Raikkonen. Max Verstappen had a scrappy race and spun after ten laps, losing positions at a critical moment. Haas were having a great afternoon, running in fourth and fifth, until pit stop problems saw both cars retire with wheelnut issues. Their retirements prompted a Virtual Safety Car, which the yet-to-pit Sebastian Vettel used to his advantage and emerged from his pit stop ahead of Hamilton. Despite his best attempts, Hamilton could do nothing to stop Vettel taking the victory. Bottas, after his qualifying crash, could only recover to eighth place in the Grand Prix as fellow Finn Raikkonen completed the podium finishers.



It takes around four weeks for Albert Park to get ready for Formula One’s annual visit. The tyre barriers, fencing and grandstands are all put up in this time as the park prepares for the pinnacle of motorsport to descend on Melbourne. After the race, it takes two weeks for the park to revert to its normal functioning.


  • The 1996 Australian Grand Prix followed on immediately from the 1995 Australian Grand Prix. The 1995 event had been at the end of the season, at Adelaide, and the 1996 Australian Grand Prix was the season opener – the first to be held in Melbourne.
  • With few long corners at this track, it can be difficult for drivers to warm their tyres properly.
  • Mark Webber finished fifth in his home Grand Prix for Minardi in 2002. He and team owner Paul Stoddart took to the podium after the official procedures to celebrate his achievement with the Australian crowd.
  • The longest straight here is 860 metres long.
  • Formula One, and the support races, are the only events this track is used for all year, meaning that despite the roads being used year round by the public, the track is often dusty and offers low grip at the start of the weekend.
  • 70% of a lap at Albert Park is spent at full throttle.
  • The original Albert Park track used in the 1950s was run anti-clockwise.
  • There has never been a night race here, but the 2009 event began at 5pm as the sun was setting. The race has never been run as late again due to visibility concerns.
  • Turn Three has seen notably large accidents over the years. In 1996, Martin Brundle flipped his car by driving into the back of David Coulthard’s McLaren. Similarly in 2016, Fernando Alonso suffered a violent crash when he misjudged the braking point and clattered into the back of Esteban Guiterrez’s Haas car. In 2001, Graham Beveridge, a marshal, was killed by a flying tyre from Jacques Villeneuve’s car.
  • Over the course of the Australian Grand Prix, the drivers will make around 3,190 gear changes.


As the traditional first round of the season, Albert Park usually offers an exciting race, as the drivers get to grips with their new cars. Expect plenty of contact with the barriers, plenty of retirements and perhaps even a surprise winner!


YearPolesitterTeam on PoleWinnerWinning Team
1996Jacques VilleneuveWilliamsDamon HillWilliams
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliamsDavid CoulthardMcLaren
1998Mika HakkinenMcLarenMika HakkinenMcLaren
1999Mika HakkinenMcLarenEddie IrvineFerrari
2000Mika HakkinenMcLarenMichael SchumacherFerrari
2001Michael SchumacherFerrariMichael SchumacherFerrari
2002Rubens BarrichelloFerrariMichael SchumacherFerrari
2003Michael SchumacherFerrariDavid CoulthardMcLaren
2004Michael SchumacherFerrariMichael SchumacherFerrari
2005Giancarlo FisichellaRenaultGiancarlo FisichellaRenault
2006Jenson ButtonHondaFernando AlonsoRenault
2007Kimi RaikkonenFerrariKimi RäikkönenFerrari
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLarenLewis HamiltonMcLaren
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn GPJenson ButtonBrawn GP
2010Sebastian VettelRed BullJenson ButtonMcLaren
2011Sebastian VettelRed BullSebastian VettelRed Bull
2012Lewis HamiltonMcLarenJenson ButtonMcLaren
2013Sebastian VettelRed BullKimi RäikkönenLotus
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedesNico RosbergMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedesLewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedesNico RosbergMercedes
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedesSebastian VettelFerrari
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedesSebastian VettelFerrari
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedesValtteri BottasMercedes