Ferrari F1 Team Profile

Ferrari F1 Team Profile


Once the dominant force in Formula One, Scuderia Ferrari have been without a championship victory for the past decade. Having made vast improvements between 2016 and 2017, the prancing horse is back on track and looks to challenge for the title once more in 2018.

Championships 16
First F1 Appearance 1950 Monaco Grand Prix
Wins 233
Poles 219
Team Principal Maurizio Arrivabene

Ferrari have racked up the most Grand Prix starts of any team over the history of Formula One. Ever-present in every season of the sport, Ferrari’s motorsport history goes back further than 1950. The brand was founded by Enzo Ferrari in 1929. After he drove in races for Alfa Romeo in the 1930s, he set up his own racing team in 1946 to beat them. As Formula One began, Ferrari joined the circus from the second race, and scored their first victory at the 1951 British Grand Prix. They then dominated the early years of the sport when Alberto Ascari became the first man to win back-to-back titles in 1952 and 1953. The team went on to win four drivers’ titles in the first decade of Formula One, with Juan Manuel Fangio in 1956 and Mike Hawthorn in 1958 adding to Ascari’s double victory.

Despite a few years being unable to challenge the British teams, Ferrari fought back in 1961, making Phil Hill the first American champion before another title followed in 1964 with John Surtees. Ferrari’s focus wandered over the next decade to sportscars, and the team failed to win another title for eleven years. Luca di Montezemolo and Niki Lauda brought the team a new lease of life in the mid-seventies, as Lauda rocketed to the 1975 title. He was in contention again in 1976 and probably would have won, if not for a near fatal crash at the Nurburgring. The Austrian fought back the following year though, giving Ferrari more trophies to add to their ever-growing cabinet. Jody Scheckter took the title in 1979, before Gilles Villeneuve became the team’s star driver. He never won the title with the team, but he took two victories in 1981, before his untimely death at the 1982 Belgian Grand Prix. The team took the Constructors’ titles in 1982 and 1983.

Ferrari were flummoxed by the design efforts of Williams, McLaren and Benetton for the next years and failed to win any titles throughout the 1980s and the majority of the 1990s. Enzo Ferrari died in 1988, before the team endured difficult seasons in 1991, 1992 and 1993. Gerhard Berger scored the team’s first victory since 1990 at the 1994 German Grand Prix, and a solitary win for Jean Alesi was the highlight of the following season.

It wasn’t until Jean Todt, Ross Brawn, Rory Byrne and Michael Schumacher came together at Ferrari in 1996 that the Scuderia really began to change its fortunes around. The efforts secured the team’s first Constructors’ Championship in sixteen years in 1999, before Schumacher and Ferrari went on to dominate the sport for the first five seasons of the new millennium. There was plenty of controversy along the way, however, with team orders at the 2002 Austrian Grand Prix being a watershed moment.

A raft of regulation changes saw the team struggle in 2005, when Schumacher stood on the top step of the podium just once. 2006 was more punchy, but the team lost out to Fernando Alonso and Renault for a second year in succession following a season-long battle. Schumacher retired at the end of 2007, but Kimi Raikkonen took his place, bringing the team another Drivers’ and Constrcutors’ trophy. Felipe Massa came close to repeating Raikkonen’s feat in 2008, but fell short by just one point. The team did however find some solace winning the Constructors’ Championship – their last to date.

In 2009, Ferrari fell down the order, winning just one Grand Prix with Kimi Raikkonen in a season where Felipe Massa was put out of action due to a freak accident during qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix. Massa was back for 2010, and was joined by Fernando Alonso – after years of speculation of him joining the Italian team. Alonso won his first Grand Prix for the team at the season-opening Bahrain event and challenged for the championship until the final race, where he was beaten by Sebastian Vettel. Ferrari came under fire for using team orders once again at the 2010 German Grand Prix, when Massa was ordered to let Alonso by. The Alonso age of Ferrari lasted until the end of 2014, a season in which the team failed to win a race for the first time since 1993.

Four-time champion Sebastian Vettel joined for 2015, and won on his second appearance for the team. Further wins followed in Hungary and Singapore, but the team wasn’t in contention for the title due to the dominance of the Mercedes car. In 2016, the team once again failed to win a Grand Prix as internal politics were brought to the forefront.

The step up for Ferrari over the winter from 2016 to 2017 was impressive, and even Mercedes were left mystified by the Scuderia’s pre-season testing pace. The season started with a somewhat unexpected victory, and their lead driver went on to lead the championship throughout the first twelve rounds. It turned out to be a year of what ifs for Ferrari, though. In the second half of 2017, especially in the Asian races, Ferrari seemed to implode, with problem after problem on both cars. The Singapore Grand Prix was undoubtedly the turning point, with both cars colliding with Max Verstappen on their way to the first turn. This was followed by a spate of technical issues, again on both cars, costing more valuable points. Nevertheless, going from winning zero races in 2016 to winning five in 2017 was impressive. The highlight for the team will have been winning the Monaco Grand Prix for the first time since 2001. The car was, bar technical problems, highly dependable at all tracks, but Mercedes still had the power advantage at tracks such as Italy and Belgium.

Ferrari head into 2018 having threatened to quit F1 due to a dislike of the direction Liberty Media are taking the sport. That’s likely to be one of the larger political stories of the year, while on track, the team will be hoping to have learned from their past mistakes to put up an even stronger fight for title glory. Red Bull were stronger than Ferrari over the last third of the season, so the Scuderia needs to keep one eye behind them. Daniil Kvyat joins the team this season as a development driver.


Year Championship Position Wins Poles Drivers
2010 3rd (396 points) 5 2 Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa
2011 3rd (375 points) 1 0 Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa
2012 2nd (400 points) 3 2 Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa
2013 3rd (354 points) 2 0 Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa
2014 4th (216 points) 0 0 Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen
2015 2nd (428 points) 3 1 Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen
2016 3rd (398 points) 0 0 Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen
2017 2nd (522 points) 5 5 Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen
2018       Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen