Albert Park, located just a few miles south of central Melbourne, is the venue of the now traditional season opening Australian Grand Prix. The temporary street circuit is a favourite among drivers and fans, as the cars sear through the park on the man-made island just inches from the surrounding walls. Read about the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit in Lights Out’s Ultimate Track Guide.

TRACK LENGTH 3.295 miles
TOP SPEED 186mph
MOST WINS Michael Schumacher (4)

Take the Ultimate Albert Park Quiz!


The Australian Grand Prix was an event for many years before it became a part of the F1 World Championship. This event moved around tracks in Australia on a yearly basis. One non-championship Grand Prix with F1 machinery was held at Albert Park in 1956. It was won by Stirling Moss, driving for Maserati. The Australian Grand Prix became a fixture on the F1 calendar in 1985, at Adelaide. The race was run successfully there for eleven seasons. In 1993, negotiations began to bring the Australian Grand Prix to Melbourne and, for the first race of the 1996 season, Formula One took to the streets of a rebuilt Albert Park circuit for the first time, much to the dismay of the ‘Save Albert Park’ group. The building of the circuit, even though temporary, required trees to be cut down and some facilities to be removed from the park. The Albert Park track is set around the man-made lake, which is the centerpiece of the park.


It takes around four weeks for Albert Park to get ready for Formula One’s annual visit. The tyre barriers, fencing and grandstands are all put up in this time as the park prepares for the pinnacle of motorsport to descend on Melbourne. After the race, it takes around two weeks for the park to revert to its normal functioning. 

READ MORE: Melbourne Memories


  • The 1996 Australian Grand Prix followed on immediately from the 1995 Australian Grand Prix. The 1995 event had been at the end of the season, at Adelaide, and the 1996 Australian Grand Prix was the season opener and the first to be held in Melbourne.
  • With few long corners at this track, it can be difficult for drivers to warm their tyres properly.
  • Mark Webber finished 5th in his home Grand Prix for Minardi in 2002. He and team owner Paul Stoddart took to the podium after the official procedures to celebrate his achievement with the Australian crowd.
  • The longest straight here is 860 metres long.
  • Formula One, and the support races, are the only events this track is used for all year, meaning that despite the roads being used year round by the public, the track is often dusty and offers low grip at the start of the weekend.
  • 70% of a lap at Albert Park is spent at full throttle.
  • The original Albert Park track used in the 1950s was run anti-clockwise.
  • A 1:23.529 set by Sebastian Vettel in 2011 is the fastest lap ever set around this track.
  • There has never been a night race here, but the 2009 event began at 5pm as the sun was setting.
  • In 2001, Graham Beveridge, a marshal, was killed by a flying tyre from Jacques Villeneuve’s car at Turn Three.
  • Over the course of the Australian Grand Prix, the drivers will make 3,190 gear changes.


As the first round of the season, Albert Park usually offers an exciting race, as the drivers get to grips with their new cars. Expect plenty of contact with the barriers, plenty of retirements and perhaps even a surprise winner!


Year Winner Constructor
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2013 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault
2012 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2010 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2007 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Giancarlo Fisichella Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Eddie Irvine Ferrari
1997 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *