Most F1 Wins in a Single Country

Michael Schumacher holds the record for most F1 wins in a single country, having won 12 Grands Prix in Italy. We take a look at the other drivers to have enjoyed multiple successes in a single country.

12 – Michael Schumacher, Italy

Michael Schumacher holds the record for most wins in a single country. He won twelve Grands Prix in Italy during his career. His first victory on Italian soil came as a result of his win at the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix. Schumacher won the race in tragic circumstances, with polesitter Ayrton Senna crashing out of the race and losing his life. This would be the only race in Italy which Schumacher did not win in a Ferrari.

Schumacher took 11 more wins in Italy in red, delighting the Tifosi with five victories at Monza and six at Imola. Schumacher won all twelve of these races having started from inside the top three on the grid. The German announced his retirement from the sport following his twelfth and final victory in Italy at the 2006 Italian Grand Prix.

9 – Michael Schumacher, Germany

Schumacher won nine times on home soil during his career. He won in Germany nine times – though the Grands Prix at which he won had varying titles. Schumacher’s first two home wins both came in 1995, when he was driving for Benetton. That year, he won the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim and the European Grand Prix at the Nurburgring. Schumacher then took another seven wins at home with Ferrari, winning three times at Hockenheim and four times at the Nurburgring.

8 – Michael Schumacher, Japan

Schumacher dominates the top of this list, having also won eight times in Japan in his illustrious career. He is the only driver to have won the Pacific Grand Prix – a World Championship which was held twice, in 1994 and 1995, at the Aida circuit. He won both of those events with Benetton, with his 1995 Pacific Grand Prix win securing him a second World Championship.

Schumacher went on to take five victories at Suzuka, the last four of which were all won from pole position. He secured his third and sixth titles at the venue in 2000 and 2003 respectively.

8 – Michael Schumacher, France

Until 2020, Schumacher was the only driver to have won eight Grands Prix at a single circuit. He was victorious at Magny Cours eight times during his career. His first French Grand Prix victory, in 1994, is the only one which he didn’t take having started from the front row of the grid. He won the 1997 and 2006 French Grands Prix from pole position, and claimed his fifth title at the event in 2002 – impressively doing so in mid-July, such was his dominance that season.

8 – Lewis Hamilton, Hungary

At the 2020 Hungarian Grand Prix, Lewis Hamilton became only the second driver to have won at a single circuit on eight occasions – as well as only the second driver to win in a country on eight occasions. Hamilton is somewhat of a Hungaroring specialist, having taken seven poles and eight wins at the venue. He recorded his first victory with Mercedes at the track in 2013, and has won all of the last three races at the circuit.

8 – Lewis Hamilton, Britain

Lewis Hamilton’s victory at the 2021 British Grand Prix saw Britain become the second country in which he has won on eight occasions. Hamilton has enjoyed plenty of successes on home soil throughout his career. His first victory at Silverstone came in the rain-hit 2008 British Grand Prix, when he outclassed the rest of the field and won by over a minute.

Most F1 wins in a single country: Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton are the only drivers to have taken eight or more wins in a single country.
Image: © Andrew Balfour

Hamilton then went on to win the British Grand Prix in every season 2014 and 2021, with the exception of 2018, when Sebastian Vettel won. Hamilton’s victory at the 2020 British Grand Prix – in which he crossed the finish line with only three fully inflated tyres – gave him the record for most national Grand Prix victories.

Header image: Shaun Garrity, Flickr / CC BY 2.0


Below is a list of every driver to have won five or more Formula 1 races in a single country. This list was last updated after the 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

12Michael SchumacherItaly
9Michael SchumacherGermany
8Lewis HamiltonBritain
8Michael SchumacherFrance
8Lewis HamiltonHungary
8Michael SchumacherJapan
7Lewis HamiltonCanada
7Michael SchumacherCanada
7Lewis HamiltonItaly
7Michael SchumacherSpain
6Michael SchumacherBelgium
6Alain ProstBrazil
6Lewis HamiltonChina
6Alain ProstFrance
6Alain ProstItaly
6Ayrton SennaMonaco
6Lewis HamiltonSpain
6Lewis HamiltonUSA
6Max VerstappenUSA
5Lewis HamiltonBahrain
5Ayrton SennaBelgium
5Alain ProstBritain
5Jim ClarkBritain
5Nigel MansellBritain
5Fernando AlonsoGermany
5Ayrton SennaItaly
5Nelson PiquetItaly
5Lewis HamiltonJapan
5Graham HillMonaco
5Michael SchumacherMonaco
5Lewis HamiltonRussia
5Sebastian VettelSingapore
5Lewis HamiltonUnited Arab Emirates
5Ayrton SennaUSA
5Michael SchumacherUSA
5Max VerstappenAustria
5Max VerstappenMexico
5Max VerstappenItaly

This article was originally published in April 2021 and has since been updated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top