2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix: Post Race Statistics

Verstappen becomes the first driver to take a Grand Slam at Imola, Norris records McLaren’s first podium of the year and Vettel scores for a 16th consecutive season. Here are the facts and statistics from the 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix!


Max Verstappen took victory in the 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, recording his second win of the 2022 season. He becomes the seventh driver to take multiple wins at Imola and is the fifth driver to take successive wins at the track, after Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, Damon Hill and Michael Schumacher.

With Verstappen’s win, Red Bull become the fifth team to record multiple wins at Imola, after Williams, Ferrari, McLaren and Brabham.

After winning the Sprint, setting the fastest lap and taking victory in the Grand Prix, Verstappen scored 34 points at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. It’s the second-highest points total for a driver at a single race weekend. Lewis Hamilton scored 50 points at the double-points 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen’s win sees him equal David Coulthard as the driver to have recorded the tenth-most podiums in Formula 1. Meanwhile, the Dutchman’s points haul sees him overtake Nico Rosberg as the driver to have scored the sixth-most points in Formula 1 history.

Verstappen’s podium was the 350th top three result for car number 1 in F1.

Verstappen led every lap of the 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. He has now led 124 Grand Prix laps at the Imola circuit, putting him fourth in the all-time list of most laps led at the track.


For the first time in Formula 1 history, two different drivers recorded Grand Slams at consecutive races. Charles Leclerc recorded the first Grand Slam of his career at the Australian Grand Prix, while Max Verstappen recorded his second at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. It’s also only the fourth time that Grand Slams have been achieved at two successive races. Alberto Ascari achieved it in 1953, Jim Clark in 1963 and Sebastian Vettel did so in 2013.

The last two races at which Mercedes have failed to reach Q3 with either car have resulted in a Grand Slam for a Red Bull driver. Sebastian Vettel also took a Grand Slam at the 2012 Japanese Grand Prix.

Verstappen is the first driver to record a Grand Slam at the Imola circuit.


With Sergio Perez finishing as runner-up, Red Bull recorded their first 1-2 result since the 2016 Malaysian Grand Prix. This was only the team’s second 1-2 finish in the V6 hybrid era.

Lando Norris finished in third place, recording McLaren’s first podium finish of the 2022 season. This was Norris’ first podium since the 2021 Italian Grand Prix.

Norris made this the fourth time in the last five races at Imola that a McLaren driver has finished in third place. Imola becomes the second circuit, after the Red Bull Ring, at which Norris has taken multiple podium finishes.

Norris’ podium marks the third time in the last four Imola races that the driver starting fifth has finished in the top three.

Norris recorded the 16th podium finish for a British driver at Imola. It sees the nation move ahead of Germany in the list of most podiums at the track.

The 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix is the third time that Red Bull have recorded a 1-2 result with a McLaren driver finishing in third place. It last happened at the 2011 Brazilian Grand Prix and also happened at the 2011 Belgian Grand Prix.


George Russell finished in fourth place at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix. He’s now the only driver to finish in the top five at every race in the 2022 season.

Valtteri Bottas finished in fifth place, recording Alfa Romeo’s best result since both drivers finished in the top five at the 2019 Brazilian Grand Prix.

With Valtteri Bottas, Charles Leclerc and Kevin Magnussen all finishing in the points, the 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix is the 800th F1 race in which a Ferrari-badged engine has picked up points.

While Yuki Tsunoda finished seventh, Pierre Gasly finished twelfth. That’s the reverse of AlphaTauri’s result at last year’s Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, at which Gasly finished seventh and Tsunoda finished twelfth.

Sebastian Vettel finished in eighth place, which sees him pick up points for the 16th consecutive season. Jenson Button, Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton are the only other drivers to have scored in 16 successive years.

Both Sebastian Vettel and Lance Stroll finished in the points, meaning that every team has now scored in the 2022 season. This was the first time that Aston Martin have scored with both cars since the 2021 Qatar Grand Prix.

This was the first time that both of the Silverstone-based team’s drivers have scored in a race at Imola since both Jarno Trulli and Heinz-Harald Frentzen finished in the top six for Jordan at the 2001 San Marino Grand Prix.

Lance Stroll and Lando Norris are the only drivers to have gained positions in every race at Imola since the circuit re-joined the calendar in 2020. Meanwhile, Norris and Charles Leclerc are the only drivers to score in all of the last three Imola races.


Lewis Hamilton finished in 13th place for the third time in his F1 career. He also finished 13th at the 2008 Bahrain Grand Prix and the 2009 Turkish Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton overtook Rubens Barrichello as the driver to have raced the fourth-most laps in Formula 1 history. Hamilton’s total of laps raced now stands at 16,662.

Esteban Ocon finished in 14th place, failing to score for the first time since the 2021 Mexico City Grand Prix.

Daniel Ricciardo finished only 18th at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, recording his worst finishing position in a race at which he has crossed the finish line since the 2011 Brazilian Grand Prix, where he finished 20th.

This is the first race at Imola at which the Enstone-based team has failed to score since the 2001 San Marino Grand Prix.


For the second race in a row, Carlos Sainz was the first retirement from the Grand Prix. Sainz is the first driver to record the first retirement at two consecutive Grands Prix since Kevin Magnussen, who was first out at 2020’s pair of races at Silverstone.

This is the first time that Sainz has recorded DNFs at consecutive races since the 2020 Tuscan and Russian Grands Prix.

Sainz became the first Ferrari driver to retire at Imola since Rubens Barrichello in the 2005 San Marino Grand Prix.

Fernando Alonso was the second and final retirement from the race. He recorded his first retirement at Imola since the 2001 San Marino Grand Prix.

Each recording their second retirement of the year, Sainz and Alonso join Max Verstappen as the drivers to have recorded the most non-finishes so far in 2022.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top