Which circuits have hosted the most Formula 1 races?

Monza has hosted more F1 races than any other track, while four circuits have hosted upwards of 50 World Championship events. Which other circuits have hosted the most Formula 1 races? We have the answers!

72 – Monza

No circuit has appeared on the Formula 1 calendar on more occasions than Monza. Just outside of Milan, Monza has been on the schedule in every single season except one. The exception was 1980, when renovation works at Monza saw the Italian Grand Prix move to Imola.

Monza tops the list of circuits which have hosted the most F1 races.
Image: © Andrew Balfour

Monza has witnessed triumph and tragedy throughout its tenure on the calendar. In recent years, it has been the scene of two surprise wins for the Red Bull junior team (Sebastian Vettel in 2008 and Pierre Gasly in 2020) plus the venue at which McLaren took their first win in almost a decade in 2021.

With Monza having hosted 71 races so far and Imola on 30, Italy is the only country to have hosted over 100 World Championship F1 races. Pescara and Mugello have also hosted F1 races in the country.

68 – Monaco

Perhaps the world’s most iconic street race, the Monaco Grand Prix has appeared on the Formula 1 calendar almost 70 times. The coronavirus pandemic saw the 2020 Monaco Grand Prix cancelled, ending a 65 year run of Circuit de Monaco appearing on the schedule in consecutive years. The future of the event was in doubt in 2022, with race organisers finally securing a three-year deal to keep the iconic track on the calendar until at least 2025.

57 – Silverstone

Silverstone hosted the very first World Championship Formula 1 race on May 13th 1950. It has since gone on to host the British Grand Prix on a further 54 occasions and hosted the one-off 70th Anniversary Grand Prix in 2020.

Between 1963 and 1968, Silverstone alternated British Grand Prix hosting duties with Brands Hatch, hence why its total number of races hosted is not as high as Monza or Monaco. Silverstone has been on the calendar in every year since 1987.

55 – Spa

Image: © Andrew Balfour

Another of F1’s iconic venues sits fourth in the list. Like those above it in the list, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps appeared on the first Formula 1 calendar in 1950 in a very different form to how it looks today. Originally a 14km track running through the local villages, the track was removed from the calendar over safety concerns in 1970. F1 would eventually return to Spa in 1983 on the layout that is still used today

41 – Nurburgring

Nicknamed the “Green Hell”, the ferocious 22km Nordschleife circuit has earned its place in F1 folklore. In total, the Nurburgring has hosted 41 rounds of the World Championship, including races on the original layout and, from 1984 onwards, on the new version of the track.

The Nurburgring is the only circuit to have hosted Grands Prix with four different titles. In its history, it has held the German Grand Prix, the European Grand Prix and even the Luxembourg Grand Prix in 1997 & 1998! The track made a surprise return to the calendar amid the coronavirus pandemic to host the one-off Eifel Grand Prix. In that race, Lewis Hamilton equalled Michael Schumacher’s record of 91 Grand Prix victories.

41 – Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

Circuit Gilles Villeneuve’s enforced break from the calendar in 2020 and 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic saw the Nurburgring move back ahead of it in the all time list. The Montreal venue – which first appeared on the calendar in 1978 – equalled the legendary German track for fifth in the list once more in 2022.

Image: © Andrew Balfour

Circuit Gilles Villeneuve has been home to a number of maiden wins in its 40-race tenure on the F1 calendar. Its namesake took his first F1 victory in the inaugural race here in 1978, while Thierry Boutsen, Jean Alesi, Lewis Hamilton, Robert Kubica and Daniel Ricciardo have since added their names to the list of first time winners at the track.

The full list of circuits which have hosted Formula 1 races

The table below shows all circuits which have hosted a World Championship Formula 1 race, along with how many races it has hosted and when it first appeared on the calendar. Note that for ‘Red Bull Ring’, the number also includes races held at the Spielberg venue when it was called the Österreichring and the A1 Ring. This list was last updated after the 2022 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

RacesCircuitCountryFirst hosted F1
57SilverstoneUnited Kingdom1950
41Circuit Gilles VilleneuveCanada1978
36Red Bull Ring*Austria1970
32Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain1991
25Albert ParkAustralia1996
22Autódromo Hermanos RodríguezMexico1963
20Watkins GlenUSA1961
20KyalamiSouth Africa1967
20Autodromo Juan y Oscar GálvezArgentina1953
19Indianapolis Motor SpeedwayUSA1950
19Sepang International CircuitMalaysia1999
19Bahrain International CircuitBahrain2004
18Circuit de Nevers Magny-CoursFrance1991
18Circuit Paul RicardFrance1971
16Shanghai International CircuitChina2004
14Brands Hatch CircuitUnited Kingdom1964
14Yas Marina CircuitUnited Arab Emirates2009
13Marina Bay Street CircuitSingapore2008
11Circuit de Reims-GueuxFrance1950
11Adelaide Street CircuitAustralia1985
10Circuit of the AmericasUSA2012
9Istanbul ParkTurkey2005
8Mosport ParkCanada1967
8Long Beach Street CircuitUSA1976
8Sochi International AutodromRussia2014
7Jerez de la FronteraSpain1986
6Scandinavian RacewaySweden1973
6Baku Street CircuitAzerbaijan2016
5Circuit de Rouen-les-EssartsFrance1952
5AintreeUnited Kingdom1955
5Valencia Street CircuitSpain2008
4Circuit de CharadeFrance1965
4Montjuïc ParkSpain1969
4Fuji International SpeedwayJapan1976
4Korea International CircuitSouth Korea2010
3Prince George CircuitSouth Africa1962
3Phoenix Street CircuitUSA1989
3Buddh International CircuitIndia2011
2Circuito da BoavistaPortugal1958
2Caesars PalaceUSA1981
2TI Circuit AidaJapan1994
2Jeddah Corniche CircuitSaudi Arabia2021
1Sebring International RacewayUSA1959
1Circuito de MonsantoPortugal1959
1Riverside International RacewayUSA1960
1Circuit BugattiFrance1967
1Dallas Fair ParkUSA1984
1Donington ParkUnited Kingdom1993
1Losail International CircuitQatar2021
1Miami International AutodromeUSA2022

This article was originally published in June 2022 and has since been updated.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top