Red Bull Ring Track Stats

It’s a trip to the Austrian mountains for the ninth round of the Formula One season, as the circus rolls in to the Red Bull Ring. Here are all the stats you need ahead of the 2018 Austrian Grand Prix!


There have been 29 races held at the Red Bull Ring since Formula One’s first visit to the track in 1970. In that time, there have been 22 different winners of the race,

The driver with the most wins at this track is Alain Prost, with three. McLaren are the team with the most wins, with six.

Alain Prost and Nico Rosberg are the only drivers to have taken back-to-back wins at the circuit. Prost won in two consecutive years in 1985 and 1986, while Rosberg won in 2014 and 2015.

On the 2018 grid, the two Mercedes drivers are the only previous winners of the Austrian Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton won in 2016, while Valtteri Bottas took victory in 2017.

The longest streak of different winners at the track came between F1’s first visit here and 1977, where there were no repeat winners for eight years.

The largest win margin at the Austrian track was in 1986, when Alain Prost won by over a lap. The smallest win margin was in 1982, when Elio de Angelis won by just 0.05 seconds.

The average win margin at the Red Bull Ring is 15.477 seconds.


Fifty different drivers have finished on the podium at this track over the 29 events held here. David Coulthard has the most podiums of any driver here, with five.

From the 2018 grid, there are six previous Austrian Grand Prix podium finishers. Lewis Hamilton has the most of the current drivers, with three. Kimi Raikkonen and Valtteri Bottas each have two podium finishes at the track, while Daniel Ricciardo, Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel have a single top three finish here each.


Nineteen different drivers have started from pole at this track.

Niki Lauda, Rene Arnoux and Nelson Piquet are tied for the most poles here, with three each. Ferrari are the team with the most poles at the track, with seven.

From the 2018 grid, there are two previous polesitters. Lewis Hamilton started from the front in 2015 and 2016, while Valtteri Bottas set the fastest Saturday time in 2017.

The driver with the most consecutive poles here is Rene Arnoux, who set all three of his Austrian Grand Prix poles in consecutive years.

The longest streak of different polesitters at the track came between 1985 and 1999. In the six races in this period, there were no repeat Austrian Grand Prix polesitters.

The largest pole margin here came in 1976, when James Hunt took pole by 0.82 seconds. The smallest pole margin was in 1984, when Nelson Piquet took the front slot by a mere 0.03 seconds. The pole margin has been under a tenth of a second on eight occasions at this track.

The average pole margin here is 0.244 seconds.


Only nine of the 29 races held here have been won from pole. That’s a pole to win conversion rate of just 31%.

Sixteen races here have been won from the front row, while thirteen have been won from third or further back.

The furthest back win here came from fourteenth on the grid, when Alan Jones won for Shadow in mixed weather conditions in 1977.


The Safety Car has made an appearance in seven events at this track. There’s a Safety Car likelihood of 64%.

The most Safety Car periods in a single race here is two, which happened in the controversial 2002 Austrian Grand Prix.

There have been four races affected by rain at this track.

The longest race here was in 1970, which Jacky Ickx won in a time of 1:42:17.3. The shortest race was the 1975 event, which lasted for just short of 58 minutes. The race had been stopped after 29 laps due to the weather conditions.

The most number of drivers to finish a race at this track is 19, which happened on F1’s return to Spielberg in 2014. The least number of finishers here was seven, in 1982.

There have been five red-flagged races at this track – in 1975, 1978, 1984, 1985 and 1987.


There has only been one champion crowned at this track. Jackie Stewart took the second of his three titles here in 1971.

The winner of this race has gone on to win that year’s title on only eight occasions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top