Monza Track Stats

Formula One heads to the ‘Temple of Speed’ for Round Fourteen of the season. Monza has been an almost ever-present track on the calendar, and has seen plenty of enthralling racing over the past seventy years. Here are all the statistics you need ahead of the 2018 Italian Grand Prix!


There have been 67 Grands Prix held at Monza since 1950. 1980 was the last time where the track did not appear on the calendar. From those 67 races, there have been 36 different Italian Grand Prix winners.

Michael Schumacher has the most wins at Monza, having taken five victories here. Ferrari are the team with the most wins, with eighteen total victories.

The race has been won back-to-back on seven occasions. Juan Manuel Fangio is the only driver to have taken more than two consecutive wins at Monza. He won here three times in a row – in 1953, 1954 and 1955.

There are three drivers on the 2018 grid who have previously won the Italian Grand Prix. Lewis Hamilton has won here four times, and could equal Michael Schumacher’s record of five wins at the track should he win this year. Sebastian Vettel has won here three times, including his maiden F1 victory back in 2008. Fernando Alonso is the only other current driver to have won here. He took the victory for McLaren back in 2007, before taking Ferrari’s last win at their home race back in 2010.

The longest streak of different winners at Monza is eight. It’s happened twice in the past – between 1966 and 1973 and in the eight races here between 1975 and 1983.

The smallest win margin in Monza is 0.01 seconds, which happened in 1971, when Peter Gethin won the race ahead of Ronnie Peterson. The largest win margin at the track is over one lap, which has only happened once, when Juan Manuel Fangio took victory in 1954.

From the last ten Italian Grands Prix, the average win margin at the track has been 8.549 seconds.


89 different drivers have finished on the podium in Monza’s Formula One history.

Michael Schumacher has the most podiums of any driver at the track, having finished in the top three on eight occasions.

From the 2018 grid, six drivers have previously finished on the Italian Grand Prix podium. Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are all tied for the most from the current field of drivers, having taken six podiums each at Monza. Kimi Raikkonen has finished on the podium three times here, while Sergio Perez and Valtteri Bottas each have one top three finish to their name.


36 different drivers have taken a pole position at Monza.

Lewis Hamilton is the driver with the most poles at the track, having set the fastest Saturday time on six occasions. Ferrari are the team with the most poles at the track, having started from the front nineteen times.

There are four drivers on the 2018 grid who’ve previously taken a pole position at the Italian Grand Prix. Aside from Hamilton’s six, Sebastian Vettel has taken pole three times, Fernando Alonso twice and Kimi Raikkonen has started from pole here once. No driver other than Hamilton or Vettel has taken pole at Monza since 2010.

Ayrton Senna and Lewis Hamilton are currently tied for the most consecutive poles at Monza. Senna took four poles in a row here between 1988 and 1991, while Hamilton could beat that streak this weekend. He’s taken every pole at the track since 2014.

The longest streak of different polesitters here is seven, which has happened twice. There were no repeat polesitters between 1979 and 1986 or between 2003 and 2009.

The smallest pole margin at Monza came in 2006, when Kimi Raikkonen took pole by 0.002 seconds. Meanwhile, Phil Hill has the largest pole margin at the track, having set the fastest qualifying time by 1.9 seconds in 1960.

From the past ten Italian Grands Prix, the average pole margin is 0.231 seconds.


24 of the 67 races held at Monza have been won from pole, while 36 of the races have been won from the front row. All but one of the last eight races at Monza have been won from pole. All but one of the last fifteen races at the track have been won from the front row.

Peter Gethin holds the record for the furthest back win at the Italian Grand Prix. He won from eleventh on the grid in 1971.


Just five of the last eighteen Italian Grands Prix have featured a Safety Car period. 

Four races at the track have been affected by rain. The most recent rain-affected race at Monza was in 2008.

The shortest race here was in 1978, which was shortened after Ronnie Peterson’s ultimately fatal crash. The 2003 race here- which lasted for 1:14:19.838 is the shortest race to have run to full distance in the history of Formula One. The longest race to be held here was the inaugural 1950 event, which was won by Giuseppe Farina in a time of 2:51:17.4.

The 2005 Italian Grand Prix is the only race at the track in which every driver finished the race. The lowest number of finishers in a race here came in 1968, when just six drivers finished the Grand Prix.

There have been five red-flagged races at Monza. The last race to be red-flagged here was in 1995.


A World Champion has been crowned twelve times here in the past. The Italian Grand Prix used to be one of the last rounds of the championship, hence why so many title deciders have played out here. The very first Formula One World Champion, Guiseppe Farina, won the title here in 1950, while Jody Scheckter was the last champion to be crowned here, back in 1979.


This will be the second time the Italian Grand Prix has been held at Monza on 2nd September. The only other time was in 1956, which Stirling Moss won for Maserati. It’s the joint-earliest the race has ever been held. None of the 67 races at Monza has been held outside of the two week period between 2nd September and 16th September.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top