Interlagos Track Stats

F1 heads to the ever-enthralling Interlagos circuit for the twentieth and penultimate round of the season. Here are all the stats you need ahead of the 2018 Brazilian Grand Prix!


There have been 35 rounds of the Formula One World Championship held at the Interlagos circuit. From those 35 races, there have been 23 different winners of a Grand Prix here.

Michael Schumacher has the most victories at the track, having won here four times. Ferrari are the team with the most wins. They’ve sealed nine Interlagos victories.

Emerson Fittipaldi, Michael Schumacher, Mika Hakkinen, Juan Pablo Montoya and Nico Rosberg are the five drivers who’ve taken back-to-back wins at the track. No driver has ever taken three wins in a row at the track.

The longest streak of different Interlagos winners came between 1974 and 1992. There were no repeat winners in all of the nine races held in that period.

There are three previous winners of the Brazilian Grand Prix on the 2018 grid. Sebastian Vettel has three wins so far here, and could equal Michael Schumacher’s record tally should he win this weekend. Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton are the other current drivers to have won here in the past, each taking one victory.

The largest win margin at Interlagos came in 1994, when Michael Schumacher won the race by over a lap. He also holds the record for the smallest victory margin, having won the 2002 Grand Prix by just 0.558 seconds.

From the past ten Brazilian Grands Prix, the average win margin at the track has been 7.879 seconds.


Over its 35 year history, 45 different drivers have stood on the podium at Interlagos.

Michael Schumacher has the most podiums at the track, with ten top three finishes to his name.

From the 2018 grid, five drivers have previously finished on the podium here. Fernando Alonso has the most podium appearances at the track, having finished in the top three eight times – but he’s never won the race. Kimi Raikkonen has visited the Brazil podium six times, Sebastian Vettel has five podium visits, Lewis Hamilton has four, while Max Verstappen and Valtteri Bottas have each finished in the top three once in Brazil.


There have been 22 different polesitters at the Interlagos circuit.

Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen, Rubens Barrichello and Felipe Massa all share the record for the most pole positions at the track, each having started from the front three times. McLaren have the most poles of any team here, having set the Saturday pace on nine occasions.

Mika Hakkinen and Felipe Massa share the record for the most consecutive poles at the track. They both took all three of their Brazilian Grand Prix pole positions in consecutive seasons.

The longest streak of different polesitters at the track came between 2008 and 2012 when there were no repeat polesitters for five years.

From the 2018 grid, there are five drivers who have previously taken pole here. Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton have started from pole twice, while Fernando Alonso, Nico Hulkenberg and Valtteri Bottas have one pole apiece here.

The smallest pole margin at Interlagos came in 1976, when James Hunt set the fastest time by just 0.02 seconds. Nigel Mansell is the only driver to have taken pole by over a second here. He set the fastest time by 1.191 seconds in 1992.

From the past ten Brazilian Grands Prix, the average pole margin at Interlagos is 0.159 seconds.


Fourteen races at Interlagos have been won from pole, while 27 have been won from the front row of the grid.

Just one of the last fourteen Brazilian Grands Prix has been won from further back than second on the grid.

A Grand Prix at Interlagos has never been won from fourth or seventh on the grid, nor has one ever been won from further back than eighth. The furthest back win here came in 2003, when Giancarlo Fisichella won from eighth on the grid.


Ten of the eighteen races held at Interlagos since 2000 have featured a Safety Car period. The most Safety Car outings in a single race here is five, which happened in 2016.

Nine races at the track have been affected by rain.

The shortest race at this track was in 1974, which lasted for 32 laps and was won by Emerson Fittipaldi in a time of 1:24:37.06. Conversely, the longest race here was in 2016. It lasted for 3:01:01.335.

The highest number of finishers in a Grand Prix at this track came in 2010, when 23 of the 24 starters reached the end of the race. The lowest number of finishers was in 1977, when just seven cars reached the chequered flag.

From the past ten races at Interlagos, an average of eighteen cars have crossed the finish line.

There have been four red-flagged races at the Interlagos circuit, including the 2016 race which was red-flagged twice.


Six World Champions have been crowned at Interlagos – including in five consecutive years between 2005 and 2009.

The winner of this race has gone on to win the title in the same year on fourteen occasions. The winner of the Brazilian Grand Prix hasn’t won the championship in the same year since 2013.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top