Hungaroring Track Stats

Here are all the facts and statistics you need to know about the Hungaroring ahead of the 2019 Hungarian Grand Prix!


There have been 33 races held at the Hungaroring, with the Hungarian Grand Prix having been ever-present on the F1 calendar since the race was first held in 1986.

From the 33 races here, there have been seventeen different winners. Lewis Hamilton has the most wins of any driver at the track, with six. McLaren are the team with the most victories, having won in Hungary eleven times. British drivers have had more wins than drivers of any other nationality at the circuit, with eleven wins. Mercedes are the engine manufacturer with the most wins here, with Mercedes-powered cars winning at the Hungaroring eleven times.

Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, Jacques Villeneuve, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton are the five drivers who have taken back-to-back Hungarian Grand Prix victories. No driver has won more than two consecutive races at the track. Lewis Hamilton could become the first driver to win consecutive races twice here, having done so previously in 2012 and 2013.

There are four previous winners of the Hungarian Grand Prix on the 2019 grid. Lewis Hamilton has the most, with six, while Sebastian Vettel has won here twice. Kimi Raikkonen and Daniel Ricciardo have each won here once.

The longest streak of different winners at the Hungaroring came between 2002 and 2008, when there were no repeat winners for seven seasons.

The Hungarian Grand Prix has been won by less than five seconds on twelve occasions, including twice in the last three seasons, and has been won by less than ten seconds seventeen times.

Damon Hill holds the record for the largest win margin at the track, having won by 71.915 seconds in 1993. The race was Hill’s debut Formula One victory. Meanwhile, Thierry Boutsen won by the smallest margin at the track, having finished just 0.288 seconds ahead of Ayrton Senna in 1990.

From the last ten races at the Hungaroring, the average Hungarian Grand Prix win margin has been 8.589 seconds.


34 different drivers have finished on the podium at the Hungaroring. Kimi Raikkonen has had the most top three finishes of any driver, with nine podium appearances here. Ferrari have had more podiums than any other team at the track, with their cars finishing on the podium on 24 occasions. British drivers have taken the most podiums of any nation, with 25 top three finishes.

From the 2019 grid, there are six drivers who have previously finished on the Hungarian Grand Prix podium. Aside from Kimi Raikkonen with his record of nine podiums, Lewis Hamilton has seven rostrum appearances here, while Sebastian Vettel has finished on the podium six times. Daniel Ricciardo has finished on the podium three times in Hungary and Romain Grosjean, Daniil Kvyat and Valtteri Bottas have each finished on the podium at this track once.

The polesitter has finished on the podium here 21 times. Second on the grid has taken more podiums than the polesitter here since 1986, with 22 top three finishes coming from there.

While Jenson Button’s win at the 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix from fourteenth on the grid is the lowest grid slot which a podium finish has come from, Lewis Hamilton finished in third place here in 2014 having started from the pit-lane.

There have been ten occasions where all of the top three on the grid have finished on the podium at the Hungaroring. The 2002 and 2017 races here are the only times where the top three on the grid finished in the order in which they started. Meanwhile, the 2006 and 2014 Hungarian Grands Prix are the only times where none of the top three qualifiers finished on the podium at this track.


There have been fourteen different polesitters at the Hungarian Grand Prix. Michael Schumacher has the most poles of any driver here, with seven – a tally which Lewis Hamilton could equal this weekend. McLaren and Ferrari are currently tied for the most poles for a team at the Hungaroring, with eight apiece. German drivers have taken more poles here than any other nation with eleven; with Nico Rosberg and Sebastian Vettel adding a further five poles to Schumacher’s total.

From the 2019 grid, there are three previous Hungarian Grand Prix polesitters. Lewis Hamilton has the most with six, while Sebastian Vettel has set the Saturday pace on three occasions and Kimi Raikkonen took his only Hungary pole in 2006.

Michael Schumacher, Mika Hakkinen, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are the four drivers to have taken back-to-back poles at the circuit. No driver has taken more than two consecutive poles here. Impressively, Schumacher took back-to-back poles here on three separate occasions.

The track record at the Hungaroring is a 1:16.170, which was set by Sebastian Vettel in last year’s Free Practice Three session. Last year’s pole lap was the slowest Hungarian Grand Prix pole lap on record with rain affecting the session.

Pole has been taken by less than a tenth at this track on five occasions, most recently in 2013.

The smallest pole margin at the track came in 1990, when Thierry Boutsen took pole by just 0.036 seconds. The largest pole margin came in 1991, when Ayrton Senna took pole by 1.232 seconds. That’s the only time pole has been taken by over a second here.

From the last ten races at the track, the average pole margin has been 0.270 seconds.


The Hungarian Grand Prix has been won from pole fifteen times and has been won from the front row 21 times. That means twelve races here have been won from third or further back on the grid.

The furthest back a win has come from here is fourteenth on the grid, a feat which Jenson Button performed in 2006. Nigel Mansell’s win from twelfth in 1989 is the only other time a Hungarian Grand Prix has been won from lower than fourth on the grid.

There have only been six occasions where the polesitter has finished on the Hungarian Grand Prix podium without winning the race.


The highest number of drivers to finish on the lead lap of the race here is fourteen, which happened in 2012 and 2015. Damon Hill and David Coulthard were the only two drivers to finish on the lead lap back in 1995.

Five races here have featured a Safety Car period. The 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix is the only race at the track which has featured more than one Safety Car outing, though there were two Virtual Safety Car periods in last year’s race.

Three races here have been affected by rain.

Kimi Raikkonen and Michael Schumacher are currently tied for the most fastest laps at the track, having set the Sunday pace four times each at the Hungaroring.

From the 749 cars which have entered a race here, 488 have reached the chequered flag. That gives an overall finish rate of 65.15%. The highest number of cars to finish the end of a race here is 21, which happened in both 2012 and 2016. The least number of drivers to cross the finish line in a Grand Prix at the Hungaroring is eight, which happened in 1996.

There is yet to be a red-flagged race at the Hungaroring.

In total, there have been 2,424 Grand Prix racing laps completed so far at the track.


A World Champion has been crowned twice at the Hungaroring. Nigel Mansell won the 1992 championship here, while Michael Schumacher won his fourth title at the track in 2001. Ferrari were also crowned Constructors’ Champions after the 2001 and 2002 Hungarian Grands Prix.

There have only been nine occasions where the winner of the Hungarian Grand Prix has gone on to win the title in the same season. In 2018, Lewis Hamilton ended a thirteen year streak of the winner of this race not winning the championship.

The leader of the championship after the Hungarian Grand Prix has gone on to win that year’s title in 23 of the 33 seasons in which the race has been held.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top