Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Track Stats

The 2018 Formula One Championship heads to North America for the Canadian Grand Prix. Here are all the stats you need to know about the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve ahead of the race weekend!


From 38 Formula One races held at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, there have been 23 different winners.

Michael Schumacher has the most wins of any driver at this track, with seven victories. Lewis Hamilton could equal that tally this year. Meanwhile, Ferrari have the most wins for a team at the Montreal track, with ten.

Only three men have won back-to-back races at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Alan Jones was first to do it, winning in 1979 and 1980 for Williams. Michael Schumacher won back-to-back races for Ferrari in 1997 and 1998, before winning three in a row between 2002 and 2004. Lewis Hamilton is the third and latest driver to have won back-to-back races at this track, having won every race here since 2015.

There are five previous Canadian Grand Prix winners on the 2018 grid. Aside from Lewis Hamilton with six wins, there are four drivers who’ve taken one win each here. Kimi Raikkonen won here in 2005, Fernando Alonso in 2006, Sebastian Vettel in 2013 and Daniel Ricciardo took his maiden Formula One victory at this track in 2014.

The longest streak of different winners at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve came between 1989 and 1996, when there were no repeat winners for seven years.

The smallest win margin at this track came in 2000, when Michael Schumacher won by just 0.174 seconds. Meanwhile, the largest win margin came in 1983, when Rene Arnoux won by 42.029 seconds.

The average win margin at the Circuit de Gilles Villeneuve is 11.119 seconds.


Since 1978, 48 different drivers have stood on the Canadian Grand Prix podium.

Michael Schumacher has the most podiums at this track, with twelve.

From the 2018 grid, there are eight previous podium finishers. Lewis Hamilton has finished in the top three on seven occasions here, while Sebastian Vettel is the next most successful driver at the track with four podiums. Fernando Alonso and Valtteri Bottas have each had three rostrum appearances here, with Daniel Ricciardo and Kimi Raikkonen each having two. Romain Grosjean and Sergio Perez are the other drivers who’ve previously finished on the Canadian Grand Prix podium, with one appearance apiece.


Twenty different driver have started from pole at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton are currently tied for the most number of poles for a driver at this track, with six each.

Williams and McLaren are currently tied as the most successful teams on a Saturday at the track, with them each taking pole on eight occasions.

There are three current drivers who have taken pole position at the Canadian Grand Prix before. Lewis Hamilton has taken six, Sebastian Vettel three and Fernando Alonso has one pole at the track.

The most consecutive number of poles at this track is three, with three drivers having achieved the feat. Michael Schumacher took pole for three years in 1999, 2000 and 2001, before Lewis Hamilton took three in a row from 2007 to 2010. Sebastian Vettel took a hat trick of poles here in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Lewis Hamilton is currently on a streak of three poles at the track. If he takes pole on Saturday, he’ll become the first driver to take four consecutive pole positions at the Canadian Grand Prix.

The longest streak of different Canadian Grand Prix polesitters came between 1982 and 1988, when there were no repeat polesitters for six years.

The smallest pole margin at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve came in 1997, when Michael Schumacher took pole by just 0.013 seconds. The largest pole margin was in 1984, when Nelson Piquet took pole by 0.756 seconds.

The average pole margin at this track is 0.262 seconds.


From 38 races at the track, the Grand Prix has been won from pole on just eighteen occasions.

The races at this track have been won from the front row 24 times, meaning the winner has come from third or further back on the grid on fourteen occasions.

The furthest back a Grand Prix at this track has been won from is tenth on the grid, when Jacques Laffite won for Ligier in 1981.


Twelve of the last twenty races at this track have featured a Safety Car period. 

There have been five rain-affected races held at this track.

The longest ever race at this track is also the longest ever race in the history of Formula One. Clocking in at 4:04:39.537, the 2011 Canadian Grand Prix featured six Safety Car periods and a two hour red flag period.

The shortest race at this track was in 1997. The Grand Prix was shortened to 54 laps following Olivier Panis’ crash. The race lasted for just 1:17:40.646. The shortest race to run to full distance here was in 2016. Lewis Hamilton completed the 70 laps in 1:31:05.296.

The most number of cars to reach the end of a race at this track is twenty, in 2012. The highest attrition rate came at the 1994 race, where just five drivers made it to the end of the Grand Prix.

On average, just twelve cars reach the chequered flag at races at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

There have been six occasions where a race at this track has been red-flagged.


There has only ever been one World Champion crowned here – Alan Jones in 1980, when the race was held towards the end of the season. The following year, Williams were crowned Constructors’ Champions at this track.

From 38 races, the winner of this race has gone on to win that year’s championship on fifteen occasions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top