Baku City Circuit Track Stats

Round Four of the 2018 F1 Championship takes place at the Baku City Circuit in Azerbaijan. Here are all the stats you need ahead of the sport’s third visit to the country!


From two previous runnings of a Grand Prix at this track, each have had a different winner.

There’s only one previous Azerbaijan winner on the grid this year – Daniel Ricciardo who won last year’s chaotic race. Nico Rosberg is the only other victor of a Grand Prix here. Mercedes and Red Bull, therefore, each have one win at the track.

Daniel Ricciardo could become the first driver to take a back-to-back victory at this track this weekend – there has not yet been a repeat winner. If he does so, it’ll be the first time he’s won two races at a track and only the second time he’s won two races in a row.

The two races held so far here have been very different. The largest win margin came at the inaugural event in 2016, when Nico Rosberg won by 16.696 seconds in a lights to flag victory. Meanwhile, in 2017, Daniel Ricciardo won by just 3.904 seconds.

The average win margin at this track is 10.3 seconds.

Click for all the information you need for the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix weekend!


Six different drivers have finished on the podium in Baku, with no driver ever finishing on the podium more than once.

Five of the six Baku podium finishers are on the 2018 grid. They are: Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas, Sergio Perez and Lance Stroll. Nico Rosberg is the only man to have finished on the Baku podium who isn’t competing this weekend.


Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton have been the only two polesitters so far at this track. Merecedes have been the only team to take pole here.

The largest pole margin was in 2016, when Nico Rosberg took pole by 0.757 seconds, largely unchallenged as a result of Lewis Hamilton crashing out in Q3. Meanwhile, in 2017, the smallest pole margin at this track became 0.340 seconds.

The average pole margin at this track is 0.549 seconds.


The pole to win conversion at this track so far is 50%.

The furthest back win in Azerbaijan was from Daniel Ricciardo last year, when he started from tenth on the grid.


The Safety Car likelihood here is 50%. In 2016, there were no Safety Car periods, but in 2017 there were four.

No races here have been affected by rain.

The 2017 Azerbaijan Grand Prix was the first in the country to feature a Red Flag.

The longest race was the 2017 race which, thanks to four Safety Car periods and a Red Flag, clocked in at over two hours long. The shortest race was in 2016, when Nico Rosberg claimed victory in a time of 1:32:52.366.

On average, sixteen cars finish this race. In 2016, eighteen cars reached the chequered flag, while in 2017, just thirteen cars made it to the end.


No champions have been crowned at this track, but the winner of this race has gone on to win the championship on one of the two events (Nico Rosberg, in 2016).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top