Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez Track Stats

It’s a trip to the track in the heart of Mexico City for the nineteenth round of the 2018 Formula One season. Here are all the stats you need to know ahead of the 2018 Mexican Grand Prix!


There have been eighteen Grands Prix held at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez which have counted toward the F1 Drivers’ Championship. From those eighteen races, there have been fifteen different winners of the Mexican Grand Prix.

Jim Clark, Alain Prost and Nigel Mansell are all tied for the most number of victories at the track, with two each. Lotus, McLaren and Williams are the teams with the most wins here, with three apiece.

No driver has ever taken back-to-back wins at this track.

On the 2018 grid, Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen are the only drivers to have a Mexican Grand Prix victory to their names.

The longest streak of different winners at the track is eleven. In the eleven races at the track between 1964 and 1989, there were no repeat winners.

The largest win margin at the track came at its inaugural slot as a round of the World Championship. Jim Clark won that event by 101.1 seconds. The smallest win margin in Mexico is 1.336 seconds, which occurred in 1991 when Riccardo Patrese finished ahead of Nigel Mansell.

In the three Grands Prix at the track since Formula One returned to Mexico in 2015, the average win margin here has been 9.995 seconds.


In its history, 27 different drivers have finished on the Mexican Grand Prix podium.

Ayrton Senna, Denny Hulme, Jack Brabham, Nigel Mansell and Riccardo Patrese all share the record for the most podiums here, with four top three finishes each.

From the 2018 grid, there are five drivers who have previously finished on the Mexican Grand Prix podium. Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas have each celebrated on the podium here twice, while Daniel Ricciardo, Kimi Raikkonen and Max Verstappen all have a single top three finish at the track.


Twelve different drivers have started from pole in Mexico City.

Jim Clark has the most poles of any driver here, with four. Lotus are the team with the most poles, having started from the front on six occasions.

Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are the only drivers on the current grid to have previously taken pole at the Mexican Grand Prix. They’ve each started from pole once.

Jim Clark and Ayrton Senna are the only drivers to have taken consecutive poles here. Clark holds the record for the most back-to-back poles at the track, having taken three in a row in 1963, 1964 and 1965.

The longest streak of different polesitters here is seven. It’s happened twice – in the seven races here between 1966 and 1987 and in every race at the track since 1989. If a driver other than Hamilton or Vettel takes pole this weekend, the record will extend to eight.

The largest pole margin here was in 1963, when Jim Clark took pole by 1.7 seconds. The smallest pole margin came in 1992, when Nigel Mansell set the fastest time by just 0.016 seconds.

From the past three races here, the average pole margin has been 0.176 seconds.


Nine of the eighteen races here have been won from pole. Twelve have been won from the front row of the grid.

The furthest back win here came in 1990, when Alain Prost won from thirteenth on the grid. That’s the only time the race has been won from lower than fourth.


Two of the last three races held here have featured a Safety Car. While the 2015 and 2016 Mexican Grands Prix featured one full Safety Car period each, the 2017 event featured only one Virtual Safety Car period. There’s yet to be a race at this track to feature more than one Safety Car outing.

There has never been a rain-affected Grand Prix in Mexico.

The longest race at this track was the first time it was run as a round of the World Championship. The race was won by Jim Clark in a time of 2:09:52.1. The shortest race here was the 63-lap 1987 event, which was won in a time of 1:26:24.207.

The highest number of finishers in Mexico came in 2016, when 21 drivers made it to the end of the Grand Prix. The lowest number of finishers is eight, which has happened twice – in 1965 and 1966.

From the past three races here, an average of seventeen cars have reached the chequered flag.

There have been two red-flagged races at this track.


A World Champion has been crowned at the Mexican Grand Prix four times in its history. Most recently, Lewis Hamilton claimed his fourth title here in 2017.

While the winner of the Mexican Grand Prix has gone on to win the title in the same year on only three occasions, the leader of the championship after the race has failed to win the title only three times.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top