2021 Belgian GP: A Statistic for Every Driver

Verstappen takes Honda’s first Spa win since 1991, Russell is the first driver to take their maiden podium at Spa in 33 years and Mazepin sets the slowest Fastest Lap time since 1976. Here’s a statistic from each driver’s 2021 Belgian Grand Prix weekend!


Finishing in third place, Lewis Hamilton set a new outright record for most podium finishes at the Belgian Grand Prix. He previously shared the record with Michael Schumacher.


Finishing in twelfth place, Valtteri Bottas failed to score at the Belgian Grand Prix for the first time since his maiden season in 2013. Bottas is the first Mercedes driver to fail to score at the Belgian Grand Prix since Lewis Hamilton retired from the race in 2014.


Due to the red flag procedure, the official classification of the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix shows that it ran to just one lap, with Max Verstappen victorious in a time of three minutes and 27.071 seconds – making it the shortest ever F1 race. This was Verstappen’s sixteenth race win, tying Stirling Moss as the driver to have won the most races without winning the title. Moss’ record has been broken four times previous – all four times being by drivers who went on to win the title. Verstappen is the 28th different driver to win at Spa, and the first to do so in a Honda-powered car since Ayrton Senna in 1991.


Sergio Perez crashed on his way to the grid ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix and would have recorded a Did Not Start had the race started at its original scheduled time. It would have been the 33rd DNS recorded at Spa, as well as Perez’s first DNS since the 2014 Malaysian Grand Prix. However, in the gap between rain delays, Red Bull were able to repair Perez’s car and he was classified in nineteenth place. It was the first time a Red Bull driver has been classified nineteenth in a Grand Prix.


Daniel Ricciardo recorded his best qualifying result and best race result of the 2021 season so far with fourth place. This was the second consecutive season in which Ricciardo has finished fourth at the Belgian Grand Prix. Ricciardo’s fourth place is McLaren’s best result at Spa since Jenson Button’s victory at the 2012 Belgian Grand Prix.


Lando Norris set the fastest lap time in both Q1 and Q2 at the Belgian Grand Prix, before crashing out at the start of Q3. It’s the first time that the driver who set the fastest time in Q1 and Q2 has gone on to qualify as low as tenth since Fernando Alonso did so at the 2012 Italian Grand Prix.


Sebastian Vettel finished the Belgian Grand Prix in fifth place, recording his thirteenth classified finish at Spa. He has now had more finishes than any other driver at the circuit. Vettel previously shared the record of twelve finishes at the track with Michael Schumacher and Felipe Massa.


Lance Stroll was last of the twenty finishers at the Belgian Grand Prix. He received a ten second penalty after changing his rear wing during the race’s stoppage. It was the first time the Canadian has failed to score at Spa since 2018. Stroll is the first driver to finish the Belgian Grand Prix with the Silverstone-based team and not score a point since Paul di Resta finished eleventh for Force India in 2011.


With eleventh place, Fernando Alonso made this his third consecutive appearance at the Belgian Grand Prix in which he has failed to score. He last scored at the circuit in 2016, when he finished seventh with McLaren.


Esteban Ocon continued his points-scoring streak at the Belgian Grand Prix, having scored on four of his five appearances at the circuit on which he made his Formula 1 debut.


Charles Leclerc recorded his third Belgian Grand Prix Q2 exit from his four appearances at the event. Despite missing out on Q3 for only the second time this year, Leclerc finished eighth in the race. His only other points-scoring race at the track is the 2019 Belgian Grand Prix, at which he took his maiden win.


Finishing in tenth place, Carlos Sainz scored at the Belgian Grand Prix for the first time since 2017. He is yet to finish above tenth here, having also finished tenth on his only other points-scoring appearance.


With sixth place, Pierre Gasly maintained his 100% points scoring rate at the Belgian Grand Prix. This was the Frenchman’s best result yet at the circuit – his previous best being eighth place last year. Gasly’s sixth place is the best result at the Belgian Grand Prix for the Red Bull junior team since Sebastian Vettel finished fifth for Toro Rosso in 2008.


Along with Kimi Raikkonen, Yuki Tsunoda recorded his seventh Q1 exit of the 2021 season at the Belgian Grand Prix. Only the two Haas drivers and Nicholas Latifi have been eliminated in Q1 on more occasions so far this year.


Kimi Raikkonen was classified in eighteenth place in the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix – his lowest ever finishing result in a race which he has finished. He has three previous seventeenth places, but has never finished as low as eighteenth before.


With thirteenth place, Antonio Giovinazzi finally secured his first classified result at the Belgian Grand Prix. He retired from the race on his previous two appearances in 2019 and 2020.


Making his Belgian Grand Prix debut thirty years after his father, Mick Schumacher finished the Belgian Grand Prix in sixteenth place. Despite completing only one lap on his debut at Spa, that’s still further than his father managed in the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix. Driving for Jordan, Michael Schumacher was forced to retire from that race after just a few hundred metres.


One of the most surprising statistics from the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix was that Nikita Mazepin set the fastest lap of the race. His lap time (a 3:18.016) is the slowest time with which a driver has set the Fastest Lap of a race since Jody Scheckter lapped the Nordschleife layout of the Nurburgring at the 1976 German Grand Prix in a time of over seven minutes.


George Russell qualified for the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix in second place. He recorded the first front row start for a British Williams driver since Damon Hill at the 1996 Japanese Grand Prix. Russell went on to finish in second place, recording the first podium finish of his Formula 1 career. Russell is the 215th driver to finish on the podium at a round of the World Championship and is the first driver to record their maiden podium finish at the Belgian Grand Prix since Ivan Capelli in 1988.


Nicholas Latifi picked up a single point for his ninth place finish at the Belgian Grand Prix. It was his second consecutive points-scoring appearance, having also picked up points at the last race in Hungary. With Russell finishing on the podium and having also scored at the last race, this is the first time Williams have scored with both cars at two consecutive races since the 2016 Belgian and Italian Grands Prix.

Read more statistics from the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix in our Post Race Statistics article!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top