F1 Grid Slot Stats: Dutch Grand Prix

While all the top 16 grid slots have recorded podium finishes at the Dutch Grand Prix, only 19th has failed to score. Here’s everything you need to know about the history of each grid slot at Zandvoort!


  • 3rd and 7th have had most top ten finishes
  • All top 16 grid slots have had podium finishes
  • 13th retired from last ten races
  • 19th never scored and retired from last eight races


GridLast WinLast PodiumLast PointsLast DNFBest Finish

In the last Dutch Grand Prix, back in 1985, Nelson Piquet became the first polesitter to finish in a position outside of the points as he came home in eighth place. Before that, all nineteen occasions where the polesitter had finished were within the top six. The Dutch Grand Prix has been won from pole twelve times. The polesitter has failed to finish eleven times; including twice in the last four Zandvoort races.

The driver starting second at Zandvoort has had more points-scoring races than drivers starting from any other grid slot, with twenty finishes within the top six. All of those points-scoring races were podium finishes, with Clay Regazzoni in 1975 being the only driver to finish third from this position. Despite all of these stats, five of the last six Dutch Grands Prix resulted in the driver who started second retiring.

Along with seventh, third on the grid holds the record for most top ten finishes at Zandvoort, with 21 in total. There have been twelve podium finishes from third on the grid, but James Hunt’s victory in 1975 is the only win to have come from third at Zandvoort.

Of the top eight grid slots, fourth has had the most non-finishes, with fourteen. Two of those have been in the last three Zandvoort races. The good news is that in the last five races, when the driver who has started here has finished, they have finished on the podium. That includes Didier Pironi’s 1982 win – the second win from here, after Niki Lauda’s triumph in 1977.

There have been two wins from fifth on the grid at the Dutch Grand Prix. Jackie Stewart won from here in 1968 and Nelson Piquet was victorious in 1980. There have been three retirements in the last five races at this circuit, but of the races which the driver starting here has finished they have scored more often than not.

Sixth is the highest grid slot to have never won the Dutch Grand Prix. Its best result is second place, scored by Niki Lauda in 1984. On all seventeen occasions that the driver starting here has finished the race, they have finished within the top ten.

Along with third on the grid, the driver starting seventh has enjoyed more top ten finishes than drivers starting anywhere else on the grid at the Dutch Grand Prix. The driver starting here has finished in the top ten 21 times. With just nine non-finishes, this grid slot has had the least retirements from any grid slot in the top eleven. No driver has won from here, but there have been seven podium finishes from seventh on the grid.

The driver starting eighth failed to finish all of the last three Dutch Grands Prix. In the last seven Zandvoort races, the driver starting eighth recorded six DNFs. This grid slot has supplied only one podium finish, which was a win for Jim Clark in 1967.

The ninth grid slot was not classified in any of the last four races at Zandvoort. The driver starting here retired from three of the last four Dutch Grands Prix and was disqualified from proceedings in 1983. From the top ten grid slots, ninth has had the most non-classified results in total, with sixteen. From the last ten races at the track, Elio de Angelis’ fifth place in 1981 is the only time the grid slot has been classified.

The driver starting tenth at the Dutch Grand Prix could be in for a good afternoon if past form is anything to go by. The driver starting here has won two of the last three races at Zandvoort. Rene Arnoux won from tenth on the grid in 1983, while Niki Lauda repeated the feat in the last F1 race here in 1985. It’s the furthest back grid slot to have won the event. This grid slot has gone the longest at the track without a retirement, the last being in 1981.

The driver starting eleventh at the Dutch Grand Prix has suffered more non-finishes than any other grid slot. The driver starting here has retired nineteen times, including eight times consecutively between 1970 and 1978. The best result here is third, scored by Pedro Rodriguez in 1968.

Twelfth on the grid has resulted in three points-scoring races in the last four Dutch Grands Prix. That included a podium finish for Nigel Mansell in 1984, the only top three result from this grid slot. There have been only eight retirements from twelfth – the second-least of any position in the top twenty. There have also been eighteen top ten finishes from this grid slot – the most of any from ninth on the grid and further back.

The longest active streak of non-finishes at the Dutch Grand Prix is held by the thirteenth grid slot. The driver starting here failed to finish all of the last ten races at Zandvoort and Andrea de Cesaris failed to even make the start in 1981. This grid slot has scored twice. Felice Bonetto and José Froilán González shared a drive to score a podium finish from here in 1953, while Chris Amon’s fifth place in 1964 is its only other points-scoring race.

Just three Dutch Grands Prix have resulted in points being scored for the driver starting fourteenth at Zandvoort. It’s a grid position which has provided one podium finish, a second place for Dan Gurney in 1963. Three of the last four Zandvoort races resulted in the driver starting fourteenth scoring points.

The driver starting fifteenth has retired from three of the last four Dutch Grands Prix, but the occasion that they did reach the end resulted in a third place finish for John Watson in 1983. It’s one of two podium finishes to have come from this position, the other also being a third place finish for Jody Scheckter in 1977. In total, the driver lining up fifteenth has scored on six occasions and finished in the top ten fourteen times.

Sixteenth is the furthest back grid slot from which a podium finish has been recorded at Zandvoort. That podium was for Jean-Pierre Beltoise, who finished as runner-up in 1968. It’s one of three times that the driver starting here has scored points, the other two times being in the last four races at the track. Mauro Baldi finished sixth in 1982, while Michele Alboreto finished fourth in 1985.

All of the last three Dutch Grands Prix resulted in retirements for the driver starting seventeenth on the grid. From the 26 Zandvoort races where a driver has started from seventeenth, there have been seven top ten finishes and three points-scoring races. Emerson Fittipaldi has the best result from here, finishing fourth in 1977.

The driver starting eighteenth scored points only three times at the Dutch Grand Prix during the event’s first stint on the calendar. All three of those were sixth places, which were taken in the last seven races at the track. The last two races at Zandvoort resulted in retirements for the driver starting eighteenth.

Of the top twenty grid slots, nineteenth is the only one to have never scored at the Dutch Grand Prix. Four top ten finishes have been scored from here, with a best result of seventh for Hans-Joachim Stuck in 1977. That was the last time a driver starting from this position finished the race. The nineteenth grid slot failed to finish all of the last eight races at Zandvoort.

The best result for the driver starting twentieth at the Dutch Grand Prix is fifth, recorded by Jacky Ickx in 1979; a race in which all but four cars who started ahead of him retired. It’s one of two times that the grid slot has provided a top six finish, the other occasion being a sixth place for Gijs Van Lennep in 1973.

No driver has started the Dutch Grand Prix from the pit lane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *