F1 Team Form: Dutch Grand Prix

Which teams have previous experience at Zandvoort? Which teams didn’t exist last time F1 visited the Netherlands? Here’s everything you need to know about each team’s history at the Dutch Grand Prix!


If you trace the Mercedes team’s roots back through its various buyers over the years, you get to Tyrrell, who competed in Formula 1 from 1970 through to 1998, when the team became BAR. The Tyrrell team scored a 1-2 finish at the event in 1973, with Jackie Stewart leading home Francois Cevert. It’s the only time the team had a podium finish at Zandvoort. They’d pick up points at the Dutch Grand Prix only three more times, with fifth place finishes in 1976 and 1980, and sixth for Michele Alboreto in 1983.

Mercedes themselves have raced in the Dutch Grand Prix once, in 1955. They scored a 1-2 finish on that day, with Juan Manuel Fangio leading home Stirling Moss. The Dutch Grand Prix was the first event since the 1955 Le Mans disaster, an event which led to Mercedes pulling out of Formula 1 and not returning as a factory team until 2010.

Red Bull Racing started life as Stewart, who didn’t appear on the grid until 1997 – twelve years after the last Dutch Grand Prix!



McLaren have competed in every running of the Dutch Grand Prix since 1966. They were the team in form at the track when F1 was last here, having taken 1-2 finishes in both the 1984 and 1985. Alain Prost won for the team in 1984, while Niki Lauda took the final victory of his career in a McLaren at the 1985 Dutch Grand Prix. The team’s first win at the track came in 1976, when James Hunt took the honours. McLaren had a further two podium finishes at the track – third places for Emerson Fittipaldi in 1974 and for John Watson in 1983.

The Silverstone-based team’s former owner Eddie Jordan didn’t sign his Jordan team up to the sport until 1991, six years after the last Dutch Grand Prix. The Aston Martin name has appeared at Zandvoort once before, in 1959. That year, Carroll Shelby and Roy Salvadori qualified tenth and thirteenth respectively. Both drivers retired with engine issues before the race reached one third of its distance.



The original Renault team were present in F1 for every Dutch Grand Prix since 1977. During that time they had sixteen entries, with only three of those not resulting in a DNF. While Patrick Tambay finished sixth in the 1984 event, Renault’s best days at the track came before then, with Rene Arnoux finishing as runner-up in 1980 and Alain Prost winning for the team at Zandvoort in 1981. It was Prost’s second Grand Prix victory.

Also in F1 for the Dutch Grand Prix’s final years were the Toleman team, the original name of the Enstone team which exists today. After failing to qualify for the race in 1981, they qualified with one car in the following year but failed to finish. Much like Renault, the team had a high DNF rate at the circuit, with their cars only ever seeing the chequered flag once. The only Toleman driver to finish the Dutch Grand Prix was Derek Warwick, who finished fourth in 1983.

Ferrari have been present at every Dutch Grand Prix held so far, except the 1973 event. The team have had more Dutch Grand Prix wins than anyone else, with eight in total – five of those being 1-2 finishes. They also lead the way for podium finishes, with 24. Ferrari have had only five point-less visits to Zandvoort, two of those being in the last five races at the track, with double DNFs in 1981 and 1984.



The Red Bull junior team (formerly Toro Rosso, now AlphaTauri) came into existence in 2006, after Red Bull bought the Minardi team. Minardi first raced in Formula 1 in 1985, so were present for the most recent running of the Dutch Grand Prix. They fielded just one car for the whole season, with Pierluigi Martini reaching the end of a race just three times from the season’s sixteen races. Martini qualified in 24th place for the race, but retired as the result of a first lap crash.

The former Sauber team started life in Formula 1 in 1993, eight years after F1’s last visit to Zandvoort. The Alfa Romeo name has previous experience at the Dutch Grand Prix, with the factory team entering the event when they returned as a constructor between 1980 and 1985. From their twelve starts, their cars reached the finish line only twice. Bruno Giacomelli finished eleventh in 1982, while Mauro Baldi picked up the team’s only points at the circuit with fifth place in 1983.



The newest team on the grid joined the Formula 1 circus 31 years after the sport last visited the Netherlands. The other team named Haas, which competed in Formula 1 in 1985 and 1986, made its debut at the race immediately after the last Dutch Grand Prix!

Williams have been present at every running of the Dutch Grand Prix since 1977 – though the Frank Williams Racing Cars team was present in 1975. In that race, the team’s drivers were Ian Scheckter and Jacques Laffite. Laffite retired from the race, while Scheckter finished twelfth. Williams Grand Prix Engineering first raced at the track in 1977, when sole driver Patrick Neve failed to qualify. The following year, Alan Jones did qualify, but failed to finish the event. In the following season, Jones took Williams’ first, and so far only, Dutch Grand Prix win. The team had further podium finishes at the track with third places for Jones in 1981 and Keke Rosberg in his championship winning year, 1982.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top