F1 Track Stats: Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Here are all the facts and statistics you need to know about the Baku City Circuit ahead of the 2021 Azerbaijan Grand Prix!


There have been four Grands Prix held at the Baku City Circuit since it first appeared on the Formula 1 calendar in 2016. From those four races, there have been four different race winners. Nico Rosberg won the first event here, Daniel Ricciardo took an unexpected victory in 2017, Lewis Hamilton won in 2018 and Valtteri Bottas was victorious in 2019.

While no driver has had more than one win, Mercedes are the team with the most wins, having taken three victories. Mercedes engines have also powered the most wins, with Ricciardo’s 2017 triumph with Renault power being the only non-Mercedes win. In terms of nations, Germany, Australia, Britain and Finland each have a solitary victory in Azerbaijan.

Mercedes became the first team to record a 1-2 finish at the Baku City Circuit in the 2019 Azerbaijan Grand Prix. They also became the first team to record victories at the circuit in successive years.

Three of the former winners of this Grand Prix are on the current grid, with Nico Rosberg the only absent victor.

The largest win margin at this track came in its inaugural race, when Nico Rosberg won by 16.696 seconds. Meanwhile, the smallest victory margin was in the 2019 event, which Valtteri Bottas won by just 1.524 seconds.

Three of the four Grands Prix at this track have been won by less than five seconds.

From the three races here, the average win margin is 6.146 seconds.


Eight different drivers have finished on the podium at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg is the only driver to have finished in the top three here who is not present on the 2019 grid.

Four drivers share the record for most podium appearances at the track, with Sergio Perez, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Valtteri Bottas each finishing on the podium twice. Daniel Ricciardo, Kimi Raikkonen and Lance Stroll are the other drivers on the current grid to have stood on the podium in Baku.

Mercedes drivers have had the most podium finishes here, with five. In 2019, Mercedes became the first team to finish a race at the track with both of their cars in podium positions.

German and Finnish drivers currently share the record for the nation with the most podium finishes at the Baku City Circuit, each with three.

The polesitter has only gone on to finish on the podium here twice (Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, who each won in 2016 and 2019 respectively), while the lowest starting podium finisher here is Daniel Ricciardo – who won from tenth place in 2017. Two podium finishes at the track have come from eighth on the grid – Lance Stroll in 2017 and Sergio Perez in 2018.

The last Azerbaijan Grand Prix was the first in which all three podium finishers came from the top three grid slots. It was also the first time the top three have finished in the order in which they started at the Baku City Circuit.


There have been four different polesitters at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg took pole in 2016, Lewis Hamilton in 2017, Sebastian Vettel was Saturday’s fastest driver in 2018 and Valtteri Bottas became the fourth different polesitter in as many years in 2019.

Mercedes are the only team to have more than one pole here, having been the team to beat in qualifying in 2016, 2017 and 2019. Ferrari are the only other team to have taken a pole position at the track.

German drivers lead the way for the most poles here, with two.

The difference between the fastest pole lap and the slowest pole lap at this track is 2.263 seconds. The slowest pole lap at the track was in 2016, the fastest being in 2019.

The smallest gap the grid was separated by here is 3.874 seconds in 2016, while the largest is 15.856 seconds in 2019. That number is so large because Brendon Hartley didn’t set a competitive time.

The largest pole margin at this track is 0.757 seconds, when Nico Rosberg dominated the qualifying session in 2016. Meanwhile, the smallest pole margin in Baku is 0.179 seconds, which is the gap that Sebastian Vettel took pole by in 2018.

Pole position has never been decided by less than a tenth at this track.

From the three races here, the average pole margin at the Baku City Circuit is 0.425 seconds.


The Grand Prix here has only been won from pole twice, in its inaugural year in 2016 and in 2019. It has been won from the front row of the grid three times.

There have been 204 racing laps held so far at the Baku City Circuit.


Until 2019, every race here had seen more than ten drivers finish on the lead lap. The least number of competitors to finish on the same lap as the winner is nine, from 2019, while the most is thirteen, which happened in 2018.

The Safety Car has appeared in two of the four races at this track, and 25 laps have been completed behind it. The most number of Safety Car periods in a single race here is four, which happened in 2017. The 2019 race saw a single Virtual Safety Car stint.

There has never been a rain-affected race in Azerbaijan.

The longest and shortest races here are separated by a difference of just over 32 minutes. The shortest race was the 2019 event, which Lewis Hamilton won in a time of 1:31:52.942, while the longest race was the 2017 Azerbaijan Grand Prix, which Daniel Ricciardo won after 2:03:55.573 of racing.

Four different drivers have taken the fastest lap of the race here – Nico Rosberg in 2016, Sebastian Vettel in 2017, Valtteri Bottas in 2018 and Charles Leclerc in 2019.

The most number of drivers to reach the end of a race here is eighteen, which happened in 2016, while the least is thirteen, which happened in both 2017 and 2018.

Of the 82 cars which have started a race here, 62 have seen the chequered flag. That gives an overall finish rate of 73.17%.

On average, fifteen drivers reach the chequered flag at this track.

There has been one red-flagged race at the Baku City Circuit – the 2017 event was halted due to debris on the track.


There has never been a champion crowned at this track. The winner of this race has gone on to win the title in the same season twice in the four races held so far at the circuit.

2016 and 2017 are the only seasons where the polesitter at this track has gone on to claim the title in the same year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *