Baku City Circuit Track Stats

Here are all the facts and statistics you need to know about the Baku City Circuit ahead of the 2019 Azerbaijan Grand Prix!


There have been three Grands Prix held at the Baku City Circuit since it first appeared on the Formula One calendar in 2016. From those three races, there have been three different race winners. Nico Rosberg won the first event here, Daniel Ricciardo took an unexpected victory in 2017 and Lewis Hamilton won last year’s race.

While no driver has had more than one win, Mercedes are the team with the most wins, having taken two victories. Mercedes engines have also powered the most wins, with Ricciardo’s 2017 triumph with Renault power being the only non-Mercedes win. In terms of nations, Germany, Australia and Britain each have a solitary victory in Azerbaijan.

Two of the former winners of this Grand Prix are on the current grid, with Nico Rosberg the only absent victor.

The largest win margin at this track came in its inaugural race, when Nico Rosberg won by 16.696 seconds. Meanwhile, the smallest victory margin was in last year’s event, which Lewis Hamilton won by just 2.460 seconds.

Two of the three Grands Prix at this track have been won by less than five seconds.

From the three races here, the average win margin is 7.867 seconds.


Eight different drivers have finished on the podium at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg is the only driver to have finished in the top three here who is not present on the 2019 grid.

It’s Sergio Perez who has had the most podium finishes at this track, with two third place finishes in 2016 and 2018. Daniel Ricciardo, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Valtteri Bottas, Kimi Raikkonen and Lance Stroll are the other drivers on the 2019 grid to have stood on the podium in Baku.

Mercedes drivers have had the most podium finishes here, with three. No team has ever had both of their cars on the podium in the same race at this track.

German, Finnish and Mexican drivers currently share the record for the nation with the most podium finishes at the Baku City Circuit, each with two.

The polesitter has only gone on to finish on the podium here once, while the lowest starting podium finisher here is Daniel Ricciardo – who won from tenth place in 2017. Two podium finishes at the track have come from eighth on the grid – Lance Stroll in 2017 and Sergio Perez in 2018.


There have been three different polesitters at the Baku City Circuit. Nico Rosberg took pole in 2016, Lewis Hamilton in 2017 and Sebastian Vettel was Saturday’s fastest driver in 2018.

Mercedes are the only team to have more than one pole here, having been the team to beat in qualifying in 2016 and 2017. Ferrari are the only other team to have taken a pole position at the track.

German drivers lead the way for the most poles here, with two.

The track record at the Baku City Circuit is a 1:40.593, set by Lewis Hamilton in qualifying for the 2017 Grand Prix.

The difference between the fastest pole lap and the slowest pole lap at this track is 2.165 seconds.

The smallest gap the grid was separated by here is 3.874 seconds in 2016, while the largest is 15.856 seconds last season. That number is so large because Brendon Hartley didn’t set a competitive time.

The largest pole margin at this track 0.757 seconds, when Nico Rosberg dominated the qualifying session in 2016. Meanwhile, the smallest pole margin in Baku is 0.179 seconds, which is the gap that Sebastian Vettel took pole by last season.

Pole position has never been decided by less than a tenth at this track.

From the three races here, the average pole margin at the Baku City Circuit is 0.425 seconds.


The Grand Prix here has only been won from pole once, in its inaugural year in 2016. It has been won from the front row of the grid twice.

There have been 153 racing laps held so far at the Baku City Circuit. The 47th lap of Sunday’s Azerbaijan Grand Prix will be the 200th lap raced at the track.


Every race here has seen more than ten drivers finish on the lead lap. The least number of competitors to finish on the same lap as the winner is eleven, which happened in 2016, while the most in thirteen, which happened in 2018.

The Safety Car has appeared in two of the three races at this track, and 25 laps have been completed behind it. The most number of Safety Car periods in a single race here is four, which happened in 2017.

There has never been a rain-affected race in Azerbaijan.

The longest and shortest races here are separated by a difference of just over 31 minutes. The shortest race was the 2016 event, which Nico Rosberg won in a time of 1:32:52.366, while the longest race was the 2017 Azerbaijan Grand Prix, which Daniel Ricciardo won after 2:03:55.573 of racing.

Three different drivers have taken the fastest lap of the race here – Nico Rosberg in 2016, Sebastian Vettel in 2017 and Valtteri Bottas in 2018.

The most number of drivers to reach the end of a race here is eighteen, which happened in 2016, while the least is thirteen, which happened in both 2017 and 2018.

On average, fifteen drivers reach the chequered flag at this track.

There has been one red-flagged race at the Baku City Circuit – the 2017 event was halted due to debris on the track.


There has never been a champion crowned at this track. The winner of this race has gone on to win the title in the same season twice in the three races held so far at the circuit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *