Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel


Four-time World Champion Sebastian Vettel became Formula One’s youngest winner in just his second season in the sport in an under-performing car. With a car at its best, he dominated the pinnacle of motorsport for four seasons with Red Bull and is now on the search for his fifth title with Ferrari.

Full Name Sebastian Vettel
Nationality German
Age 31
Date of Birth 3rd July 1987
First Race 2007 United States Grand Prix
First Win 2008 Italian Grand Prix
Wins 52
Poles 54
Podiums 111
Fastest Laps 36

Sebastian Vettel, born in West Germany in 1987, began his karting career in 1995. After early karting success, 2001 saw him win both the German and European titles. In 2003, Sebastian moved to Formula BMW with backing from Red Bull and finished on the podium at every race, 18 of those being race wins. He had his first F1 test the following year with BMW Williams. In 2007, Vettel was leading the Formula Renault 3.5 championship but quit when a Formula One opportunity arrived.

Robert Kubica is to thank for Vettel’s F1 début. His crash at the 2007 Canadian Grand Prix put him out of action for the USA Grand Prix, and Vettel – who had been a Friday driver for BMW Sauber on five occasions throughout 2006 – took his place and finished in the points on his début. Red Bull, impressed by their junior driver, placed him at the Toro Rosso team for the second half of the season and kept him on for 2008 after getting the team’s best result to date – a fourth place in China. Toro Rosso were regular points finishers that season, and Vettel remarkably took pole and his maiden win on a soggy weekend at the Italian Grand Prix.

His performance that season was, unsurprisingly, enough to earn him a seat at Red Bull for 2009, a season in which he took the team’s maiden win, in China, and remained in the championship fight until the closing rounds of the season. In 2010, Vettel led the championship only once, but it was when it mattered, as he became the youngest ever World Champion following a season-long battle with four other title contenders. Dominance in 2011 followed, before a championship duel with Fernando Alonso in 2012, which saw Vettel crowned champion once again after an impressive recovery drive in Brazil. In 2013, Vettel’s dominance continued, and he took a record-breaking nine race streak of victories in the second half of the season. Sebastian’s 2013 season is also memorable for the now infamous Multi 21-gate, in which he overtook his team-mate Mark Webber against team orders to claim victory at the Malaysia Grand Prix.

As the hybrid era came along in 2014, Red Bull were no longer at the top and Vettel struggled against his new team-mate Daniel Ricciardo. Sebastian looked for a new challenge in 2015 as he joined Ferrari with the hope of emulating his childhood hero Michael Schumacher. Vettel scored three wins in his first season with the team. A win-less year followed in 2016 as rumours of a tense relationship between Vettel and Ferrari swirled around the F1 paddock. Vettel’s frustrations came to a head with an ill-advised radio rant to race director Charlie Whiting during the Mexico Grand Prix.

Ferrari, and Sebastian Vettel, returned to winning ways in 2017. The German stood on the top step of the podium five times and led the title race for the first twelve rounds of the season before his team seemingly imploded. He tried everything he could to swing the championship back in his favour in Mexico, but it wasn’t enough to undo the damage that had been done over the Asian races. Losing his cool in Baku will most likely be his biggest regret from 2017.

For 2018, Vettel can once again expect to be in the championship hunt. He is one podium away from becoming the fourth man to have 100 F1 podiums to his name, something which will surely be done over the course of 2018, but have Ferrari done enough over the winter for Vettel to take a fifth title this season?


Year Team Place Wins Poles Podiums
2007 BMW Sauber/Toro Rosso 14th (6 points) 0 0 0
2008 Toro Rosso 8th (35 points) 1 1 1
2009 Red Bull 2nd (84 points) 4 4 8
2010 Red Bull 1st (256 points) 5 10 10
2011 Red Bull 1st (392 points) 11 15 17
2012 Red Bull 1st (281 points) 5 6 10
2013 Red Bull 1st (397 points) 13 9 16
2014 Red Bull 5th (167 points) 0 0 4
2015 Ferrari 3rd (278 points) 3 1 13
2016 Ferrari 4th (212 points) 0 0 7
2017 Ferrari 2nd (317 points) 5 4 13
2018 Ferrari