Racing Point F1 Team Profile

Racing Point F1 Team Profile

Highly regarded as the best pound-for-pound team in Formula 1, the team based at Silverstone have a new identity for 2019. Regularly in contention for podium finishes, will Force India have more success under their new Racing Point name?

Drivers’ Championships 0
Constructors’ Championships 0
First F1 Appearance 2019 Australian Grand Prix
Wins 0
Poles 0
Team Principal Otmar Szafnauer


Racing Point may be a new name for 2019, but the team – and much of its DNA – can be traced back to 1991, when Eddie Jordan entered Formula 1 with his Jordan team. Michael Schumacher was given his F1 début with this team at Spa in the same year. The Jordan team finished fifth in the Constructors’ Championship in their maiden season – and had similar success again with a reliable Hart engine in 1994 and 1995. The yellow team’s first win came at the unforgettable 1998 Belgian Grand Prix, where Damon Hill took his final F1 victory. Their most successful season came the year after, finishing third overall behind Ferrari and McLaren.

With the ever increasing costs in modern day Formula 1, success became more difficult, though the team managed one final victory at the rain affected 2003 Brazilian Grand Prix. Eddie Jordan sold the team in 2005. Despite changing ownerships three times over four years – from Jordan, to Midland, to Spkyer, to Force India – the team’s base has never strayed from Silverstone, just a stone’s throw from the iconic British circuit. The interim years between Jordan and Force India brought the team little success – with Marcus Winkelhock leading for a short while in a chaotic 2007 European Grand Prix, his first and only Formula One race, being one of the only major talking points.

Spyker became Force India for the start of the 2008 season, after Vijay Mallya bought the team in October 2007. They found themselves picking up where Spyker left off, as backmarkers, finishing tenth in the championship. Taking advantage of the regulations, and a new engine supply from Mercedes, in 2009 the team were relatively competitive and even took their first pole at Spa, where Giancarlo Fisichella finished on the podium.

They became a solid midfield team for the next seasons, with drivers like Adrian Sutil, Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg all regularly scoring points. Hulkenberg led the race for a short time at the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix, before colliding with Lewis Hamilton. Another step forward came in 2014 at the dawn of the hybrid era, thanks to the team having the superior Mercedes engine. Sergio Perez, who joined the team from McLaren for 2014, was regularly in contention for podiums in 2014 and 2015, and the team rose to become ‘best of the rest’ in 2016, beating Williams in a season long battle for fourth place.

The best pound-for-pound team delivered once again in 2017, finishing best of the rest behind the top three teams despite a driver line-up change ahead of the season. Though Force India failed to score a podium for the first time since 2013, they were in a battle of their own for fourth place, striding well clear of Williams in the competitive order, amassing their best ever total of 187 points – 104 clear of their closest competitors. Their new recruit, Esteban Ocon, ruffled more feathers than many expected, regularly battling more experienced team-mate Perez. The two were close on track, and it cost the team dear at times. Their coming together in Baku arguably cost them a double podium, while in Belgium things turned nasty as Perez forced Ocon towards the wall on the run to Eau Rouge.

Sticking with their driver line-up, and their pink colour scheme, Force India had a more trying time in 2018. Part of the team’s problem was a lack of money, which in turn led to a lack of updates on the car. By the midpoint of the season, the team entered administration, and were eventually saved with a consortium led by Lawrence Stroll. The team lost the 59 points they had earned in the first half of the year but secured their long-term future. On track, Perez and Ocon were less magnetised toward one another than they had been in 2017, though the Mexican managed to take his team-mate out of the race on the first lap in Singapore. Nevertheless, there were high points throughout the year, including a return to the podium for Perez at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix, while Ocon led a second row lock-out in qualifying at the Belgian Grand Prix.

The team has a brand new identity for 2019 – Racing Point. As soon as Lawrence Stroll became involved in the project, it seemed only a matter of time before his son Lance would join the driver line-up. He joins alongside Sergio Perez this season, at the expense of Esteban Ocon. The new owners have grand plans for the team, including hiring new staff and extending the Silverstone factory. Will this help them reclaim their ‘best of the rest’ status?


YearChampionship PositionWinsPolesDrivers
20107th (68 points)00Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi
20116th (69 points)00Adrian Sutil, Paul di Resta
20127th (109 points)00Nico Hulkenberg, Paul di Resta
20136th (77 points)00Adrian Sutil, Paul di Resta
20146th (155 points)00Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg
20155th (136 points)00Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg
20164th (173 points)00Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg
20174th (187 points)00Sergio Perez, Esteban Ocon
20187th (52 points)00Sergio Perez, Esteban Ocon