3 DRS Zones for 2018 Australian GP

3 DRS Zones for 2018 Australian GP

For the first time, this weekend’s Australian Grand Prix will feature three DRS activation zones.

In hopes of increasing overtaking manoeuvres in the opening round of the season, a DRS detection point has been added 170 metres before turn eleven on the Albert Park track, with the activation zone being between turns twelve and thirteen.

The new DRS zone is in addition to the two which have been in place in previous events – on the start/finish straight, and on the run to turn three. These two activation zones have a single detection point, which comes before turn fourteen on the Melbourne track.

The new DRS zone has been put in place to allow drivers to close up to the car ahead before they reach the DRS activation zone on the main straight. Last year, there were only fourteen overtakes during the Australian Grand Prix.

The 2018 Formula One season begins in Melbourne this weekend

Nicky Haldenby is a 24 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature and founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP and can be heard regularly as a guest on the Last Lap Podcast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *