It’s a welcome return to Germany for the last stop for Formula One before the summer break. Here’s everything you need to know about the Hockenheimring!

Image: Sentoan / CC


LAP LENGTH 4.574km

Fast Facts:

  • There was no German Grand Prix in 2015. Hockenheim and the Nurburgring are supposed to alternate each year, as per a contract agreed upon in 2006. However, recent financial issues have left the other German circuit unable to host since 2013. 
  • The drivers are on the throttle for 60% of the lap, with a top speed of around 217mph just before Turn 6.
  • Nico Rosberg and the Schumacher brothers are the only German drivers to have won at Hockenheim. 
  • The fastest turn on this track is Turn 7, which is taken at 180mph.
  • Two-time British World Champion Jim Clark was killed at this track in 1968 during a Formula Two race.
  • This Grand Prix will mark the 76th German Grand Prix. 
  • The track is located in the Rhine Valley and as such is quite flat. The highest part of the track sits 152.5m above sea level while the lowest part is 148.2m above sea level.
  • Aside from being a race track, Hockenheim also occasionally hosts music events. The Sonisphere Festival was held here in 2009 and other acts to have performed here include The Rolling Stones, Robbie Williams and Michael Jackson, who brought his mammoth Bad World Tour here in 1988. 
  • The drivers make 49 gear changes per lap here – that’s 3,283 in total over the Grand Prix.
  • The latest iteration of the Hockenheim track was built in 2002. The stadium section was kept much the same but the rest of the track was significantly re-designed by Hermann Tilke, to a lot of criticism by fans and the media. 
  • There have been just 3 safety car periods since the track was re-profiled in 2002.  
  • The fastest ever lap of the track is a 1:13.306, set by Michael Schumacher in 2004. 

Grand Prix Winners in Hockenheim:

Year Winner
2014  Nico Rosberg
2012  Fernando Alonso
2010  Fernando Alonso
2008  Lewis Hamilton
2006  Michael Schumacher
2005  Fernando Alonso
2004  Michael Schumacher
2003  Juan Pablo Montoya
2002  Michael Schumacher
2001  Ralf Schumacher
2000  Rubens Barrichello
1999  Eddie Irvine
1998  Mika Häkkinen
1997  Gerhard Berger
1996  Damon Hill
1995  Michael Schumacher
1994  Gerhard Berger
1993  Alain Prost
1992  Nigel Mansell
1991  Nigel Mansell
1990  Ayrton Senna
1989  Ayrton Senna
1988  Ayrton Senna
1987  Nelson Piquet
1986  Nelson Piquet
1984  Alain Prost
1983  René Arnoux
1982  Patrick Tambay
1981  Nelson Piquet
1980  Jacques Laffite
1979  Alan Jones
1978  Mario Andretti
1977  Niki Lauda
1970  Jochen Rindt
Header image: Force India F1 Team

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *