We return to Hungary for the eleventh round of the 2016 Formula One season. Here’s everything you need to know about the Hungaroring!

Image: Will Pittenger / CC


LAP LENGTH 4.381km
FIRST RACE 1936, 1986 (F1)

Fast Facts:

  • The Hungarian Grand Prix has featured on the calendar for every year since its debut in 1986.
  • 2016 will be the 30th consecutive Grand Prix at this circuit. Only Monza and Monte-Carlo have hosted more consecutive races.
  • Less than half of the thirty Hungarian Grands Prix have been won from pole.
  • Until 2006 there had never been a wet Grand Prix in Hungary. The rain in 2006 aided Jenson Button to his first victory from 14th on the grid.
  • Due to under-use, the track is often slippery at the beginning of the weekend. Parts of the track that are off the racing line remain slippery throughout the event.
  • The Hungaroring is the only track on the current calendar that Mercedes haven’t won at in the hybrid era. 
  • McLaren are the most successful team here, having won 11 Hungarian Grands Prix.
  • Lap times are expected to be quicker in previous years with a freshly resurfaced track and new kerbing. There are also new run-off areas for this year. 
  • Turn Four is the quickest on the track, taken at 132mph while Turn One is the slowest, taken at just 58mph. Twelve of the fourteen corners are taken at low-ish speed, which gives an advantage to cars with better mechanical grip.
  • The largest winning margin here was Damon Hill’s 72 second lead in 1993.
  • The Hungaroring has a contract to hold the Hungarian Grand Prix until 2026. 
  • 44% of the lap is spent at full throttle.

Hungarian Grand Prix Winners:

Year Winner
2015 Sebastian Vettel
2014 Daniel Ricciardo
2013 Lewis Hamilton
2012 Lewis Hamilton
2011 Jenson Button
2010 Mark Webber
2009 Lewis Hamilton
2008 Heikki Kovalainen
2007 Lewis Hamilton
2006 Jenson Button
2005 Kimi Räikkönen
2004 Michael Schumacher
2003 Fernando Alonso
2002 Rubens Barrichello
2001 Michael Schumacher
2000 Mika Häkkinen
1999 Mika Häkkinen
1998 Michael Schumacher
1997 Jacques Villeneuve
1996 Jacques Villeneuve
1995 Damon Hill
1994 Michael Schumacher
1993 Damon Hill
1992 Ayrton Senna
1991 Ayrton Senna
1990 Thierry Boutsen
1989 Nigel Mansell
1988 Ayrton Senna
1987 Nelson Piquet
1986 Nelson Piquet

Header image: Force India F1 Team

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *