The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve plays host to Round 7 of the 2016 Championship as the championship battle begins to heat up.  Here’s everything you need to know about the Canadian Circuit!

Image: Will Pittenger / CC


LAP LENGTH 4.361km

Fast Facts:

  • The circuit is built on the Notre Dame Island, which is a man-made island.
  • The straight at the end of the lap runs adjacent to the Olympic Basin, which was used in the 1976 Summer Olympics for the rowing and canoeing events.
  • Be on the look out for local wildlife- groundhogs are regularly seen on track in Montreal. Officials of the city trap as many of the animals as they can in the weeks preceding the Grand Prix, and transport them to Saint Helen’s Island, which is nearby. 
  • The fastest ever lap of the circuit is a 1:12.275, set by Ralf Schumacher in the 2004 Qualifying session. 
  • The Ile Notre-Dame circuit is home to the infamous Wall of Champions. It was given the name after the 1999 season which saw World Champions Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher and Jacques Villeneuve collide with the wall, situated at the final chicane on the circuit. Button and Vettel are among the names to have fallen victim to the wall in recent years.
  • There have been 31 different winners from 46 Canadian Grands Prix. 
  • Rain is often a feature of the weekend here, as are safety cars. A culmination of the two meant that the epic 2011 Grand Prix was the longest ever, at over 4 hours long.

Last 10 Canadian Grand Prix Winners:

Year Winner
2015 Lewis Hamilton
2014 Daniel Ricciardo
2013 Sebastian Vettel
2012 Lewis Hamilton
2011 Jenson Button
2010 Lewis Hamilton
2008 Robert Kubica
2007 Lewis Hamilton
2006 Fernando Alonso
2005 Kimi Raikkonen

Header image: Rachel Clarke / CC

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *