Arguably the most well-known, unique and spectacular of them all.. Here’s everything you need to know about the Circuit de Monaco!

Image: Will Pittenger / CC


LAP LENGTH 3.337km
FIRST RACE 1929 / 1950 (F1)

Fast Facts:

  • As one of the most prestigious events in the motoring world, Monaco is one third of motorsport’s Triple Crown. The other two being 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Indy 500, the latter in recent years being held on the same day as the Monaco Grand Prix. Graham Hill is the only driver to have ever won all three. 
  • Monaco is the only Grand Prix on the calendar that is shorter than 305km, because of the slow speeds it would simply take too long. The distance of the Monaco Grand Prix is 260km. 
  • The first Grand Prix, in 1929, was organised by Antony Noghes. The final turn is named after him. 
  • Ayrton Senna won five consecutive races here between 1989 and 1993. 

Last 10 Monaco Grand Prix Winners:

Year Winner
2015 Nico Rosberg
2014 Nico Rosberg
2013 Nico Rosberg
2012 Mark Webber
2011 Sebastian Vettel
2010 Mark Webber
2009 Jenson Button
2008 Lewis Hamilton
2007 Fernando Alonso
2006 Fernando Alonso

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *