The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya hosts Formula 1’s traditional return to Europe as the European Season gets underway.  Here’s everything you need to know about the Spanish Circuit!

Image: Will Pittenger / CC


LAP LENGTH 4.655km

Fast Facts:

  • A different driver has won the race for the past 9 Grands Prix at this track. Will 2016 make it 10 different winners in a row?
  • The circuit was built in 1991, and in 1992, the track acted as the start/finish line for the road team time trial cycling event in the Olympics which were held in Barcelona.
  • Wind direction can have a significant impact on the Catalunya track, and it is known to change drastically throughout the day.
  • The circuit is probably the most well-known to the teams and drivers as they test extensively here in Winter Testing.
  • Qualifying is particularly important at Catalunya. 23 of the 25 Grands Prix at the track have been won from the front row of the grid. 

Last 10 Spanish Grand Prix Winners:

Year Winner
2015 Nico Rosberg
2014 Lewis Hamilton
2013 Fernando Alonso
2012 Pastor Maldonado
2011 Sebastian Vettel
2010 Mark Webber
2009 Jenson Button
2008 Kimi Raikkonen
2007 Felipe Massa
2006 Fernando Alonso

Header image: Leo Hidalgo / CC

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *