Desert nights, long run off areas and rosewater on the podium. Here’s everything you need to know about the Bahrain Grand Prix circuit!


LAP LENGTH 5.412km

Fast Facts:

  • The track was extended in 2010- a layout named ‘the Endurance Circuit’ – in honour of Formula 1’s diamond jubilee.
  • The Grand Prix has been held at night since 2014.
  • The race was cancelled in 2011 due to the political situation in Bahrain. Plans were made to reschedule the race from March to October that year, but the event never materialised.
  • There is no champagne on the podium here, instead non-alcoholic rosewater is sprayed by the podium placed finishers.
  • Although the drivers and fans don’t particularly like the long run off areas they do make Bahrain one of the safest race tracks on the F1 calendar. The long run off areas also prevent sand from getting on to the circuit.

Previous Bahrain Grand Prix Winners:

Year Winner
2015 Lewis Hamilton
2014 Lewis Hamilton
2013 Sebastian Vettel
2012 Sebastian Vettel
2010 Fernando Alonso
2009 Jenson Button
2008 Felipe Massa
2007 Felipe Massa
2006 Fernando Alonso
2005 Fernando Alonso
2004 Michael Schumacher

Header image: Faris Algosaibi / CC

Nicky Haldenby is a 23 year old Formula One blogger from Scarborough, England. Having grown up with F1 often on the TV on Sunday afternoons, Nicky has been following the sport avidly since 2006. He graduated from the University of Hull in 2015 with a First Class degree in English Language and Literature. He founded the Lights Out F1 Blog in March 2016. Nicky also writes for Badger GP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *